Grocerries Shopping Experiences in Paris

After visiting Eiffel Tower, we go directly to Auchan. Auchan is a huge supermarket such as Carrefour, but as I heard from my sister, Carrefour in France is quite expensive rather in Jakarta. In Auchan, we bought some stuff for fill up the fridge and also some snacks and other house hold goods. Well, for me, exploring the stuff in France Supermarket is something new. It’s so different with what I usually see in Jakarta (of course!). Well, first I feel like I am in import goods store which is not for the local. I saw lots of very interesting stuff in beautiful packages. What’s on my mind when I saw those things are, they really proud with their language, cause all of the stuff is in French language, which is different with in Indonesia, where there are sometimes mix up between English and Bahasa.

And I am so happy to see my fave brand Le Petit Marseillas is sooo cheap there. Hahaha, of course cause it made of France itself 😀 – I took some times only to choose for shampoo and soap. Oh girl!

Continue to the shopping. Chocolates there are so cheap also comparing in Indonesia, I bought some for my family and friends in Jakarta. For dairy stuff also cheap too. Cause in Europe, they have lots of cows – so for all food relating to milk, meat and cheese, it’s quite cheap rather than Asia.

I saw amazingly with some fruit and vegetables that are so different with Indonesia has. Lots of veggies and fruits which I never saw before. Those peaches, apples and plum are so cheap, remembering how I want to buy it in Jakarta, but it’s only available in such import fruit store and expensive for sure.

Sausages! Yuummm… Lots of smoke meat and sausages. I knew that the country which famous with sausages is Germany. But in here, you can find lots of it. They called pork as Jambon and chicken as poulet :p. I also now understand, why my friend told me that wine in Jakarta is pretty expensive, since I saw there, a bottle only cost you around € 3 or more, depends on the year and quality of course, but in Indonesia, absolutely you can not find a bottle of wine for € 3. Well, for my whole life experience until now, I did drink lots of wine in France, hahaha, it’s like an excuse for my self cause you drink it in “the wine country” 😀 and for them also, wine is part of daily eating, not so extraordinary as what Asian people think of wine.

In here (or mostly western Europe), you have to take care of your own shopping stuff. They don’t have any crew who will help you to put in bag and organize it to you. As my brother in law is very organize person, he really do it quickly and re arrange everything from the trolley before paying, to inside of plastic bag to the trolley after paying (if you know what I mean).  You also need to bring your own plastic bag if you don’t want to pay it, the cost around € 0,5 or less. That’s a strategy to reducing the global warming effect. I saw lots of people bring their own bag, such as luggage which has wheels, when go to market to bring all the grocerries home. Very effective!!

And what I saw also, lots of old people, I say again, old, that still do the shopping by themselves. Slowly they walk with the shopping luggage and they really take care of themselves, so independent I think.

It’s so fun and exciting buy grocerries in a place you never went before. I can see how the daily life and what stuff they use to for they food and chores. A priceless experience 🙂

xxx

-dea-

Leave a Reply

