My Happiness Project

Lately, I don’t write nor think.

Well, I do still think, as how this brain usual works. But not so much, such as you have a good project and you put all your energies and time on it. I am an active person, I like to jump from one subject to another subject cause my curiosity is so big as my appetite to chocolate, hahaha. But lately, life was playing so smooth for me. I even don’t like it. It’s such a plain condition, which I feel as I don’t have blood at all. I like surprise and challenge and while life plays so cool and easy, I warn myself that something isn’t right.

I don’t try to be boast about myself and life. Not like that. In fact, I’m digging something lately, the cause of my seem-endless-ordinary-life.

As a worker, I spend daily most of my time in the office. I communicate, interact with people and colleagues regarding to the job I hold and I love it. I like to meet new people, new challenge, new atmosphere. it’s on my nature to meet with different people, learn something from them and enjoy every detail of the process of my work. I like to do my best in every responsibility given to me. Even sometimes my perfectionist makes me exhausted but I like it. It’s like an addictive behavior that become my standard while I’m doing something.

Time goes by, I don’t know what happened. But what I know, suddenly every situation around me becomes stagnant. From work life to love life. It’s all become so-so. I don’t have so much passion on what I do, which is really a red warning for me. I don’t feel happy with what I do. I feel like a Robot, just doing something because of my obligation, nothing more. I can’t be creative, can’t think out of my box, can’t push myself to be better than I am. It worst. I feel not productive and I don’t like it.

Then as usual, whatever I need an inspiration, I’m going to Bookstore. Book as treasure for me. Contain so many information from A-Z. I found an interesting book by Gretchen Rubin. It was on discount too, hahaha, how lucky I am. So I bought it, the book title is “The Happiness Project”.

Between me and Rubin, maybe have a similarity. We both reached a condition when we think life can be more than this. It doesn’t mean we are not being grateful or greedy. But it because we’re afraid that we miss our capability to live this life to the fullest. It doesn’t mean we are unhappy or desperate, but it because we know that we need to work on our own happiness and still be happy.

I like the idea she started to build her own happiness project. Even some people can not understand the situation and think her life is pretty good but the one who know whether we need to improve ourselves or not, it’s ourselves. So she divide the project into 12 months and start from very beginning to put “her happiness project as priority”. I don’t want to summarize what she did on my article. I want to let you know that what she did indirectly affected on me. I start to think to make my own happiness project. If she had her own “Twelve Commandments” such as :

1. Be Gretchen

2. Let it go

3. Act the way I want to feel

4. Do it now

5. Be polite and be fair

6. Enjoy the process

7. Spend out

8. Identify the problem

9. Lighten up

10. Do what ought to be done

11. No calculation

12. There is only love

So later I will make my own “The Happiness Project.” If something is positive and useful, why don’t we be humble and follow it? There’s no need for being “Ah, it was her project, not mine..” That’s unreasonable and no need. I like to follow her enthusiasm for making her life happier and maximal. By the way, why I suddenly write again now, even though I still not ending my “ordinary life and feeling” because I follow her eagerness to write her blog daily.

Now, what the relation between this Rubin Happiness Project idea to my work and love life? It’s definitely very highly correlated. I need to be happy whether it’s on my work life or love life. Happier worker can bring out her best while doing her job. And simply because I spent my time mostly at work, absolutely being happy at work is a big matter. In love life, I can apply her idea, because as so many motivational quote about “Love yourself.” I intent to love my self first and later think about my love life, actually, I don’t want to think too much about my love life. It’s so delightful to care about your own self, love your self, and let the story goes by itself.

I will keep you up date about my “Happiness Project” – honestly I don’t know from what think I should start. I just knew that I can’t let my self drowning on the ordinary and let the chances for being happier pass away.

For now, let me quote things I found from the book that I post on Facebook 🙂

Happiness has a particularly strong influence in marriage, because spouses pick up each other’s moods so easily. A 30 percent increase in one spouse’s happiness boosts the other spouse’s happiness, while a drop in one spouse’s happiness drags the other down. “One is not always happy when one is good, but one is always good when one is happy ~ Oscar Wilde” (Gretchen Rubin)

 

Being happy can make a big difference in your work life. The happy outperform the less happy. Happy people work more hours each week. They tend to be more cooperative, less self-centered and more willing to help other. Because they’ve helped others, others tend to help them. Happiness matters to work simply because work occupies so much of our time. (Gretchen Rubin)

 

“There is no love; there are only proofs of love” ~ Pierre Reverdy. Whatever love I might feel in my heart, others will see only my actions. (Gretchen Rubin)

You may think that your life is already good. No need to sweat yourself to make it more happy, more lively, more cheerful, but as I believe in the work of love, Love needs to worked out because Love is a verb not a noun, so does Life. We should keep work on our life to make it happier and better and fulfill the purpose of why you are here, alive.

IMG_8578

Love,

Dea

Leave a Reply

