Journey Note – Trip to Budapest, Hungary (Day 1)

My sister remind me that I haven’t wrote anything about my trip to Budapest last Summer. So true. I forget to explains it on the pieces of papers, but I still remember it clearly on my head. Now I start to write it.

After a week in Paris, France. I planned my trip to East Europe. Countries that I want to visit are Budapest in Hungary also Prague in Czech. I don’t know why I chose East Europe comparing South or West Europe. France is so glamor and beautifully artistic for me. I love every floor, every building, every corner in the city. But East Europe sounds so interesting for me too. Their history and past make me want to see with my own eyes the country that influenced by communism in that era.

I bought an Eurolines Pass. It’s a pass ticket for bus. It’s Summer, everything are so expensive. So does the ticket. I paid for Euros 350 for 15 days going around in 51 cities – which absolutely I can’t go to whole cities. They have a category for the price, LS (Low Season), MS (Middle Season) and HS (High Season). I am trapped in HS category. But honestly I can say it’s worth-ed. The bus is so luxury. Big place to seat. You can lay down the back of seating so at least you can sleep a bit well. If you choose the trip over night, you don’t need to pay the hostels cost. Clever, huh?

 image

The Eurolines station in Paris is in 28 Avenue du General de Gaulle 93170 Bagnolet. Tel : 0892899091. I really so grateful with the help of my brother in law. He’s a French, so he was dealing with the counter ladies for buying the ticket and also to asking many informations such as how I can change my ticket or where should I book the ticket for my next trip. He also so sweet by bought me some snacks and water in very early morning. Wow, I didn’t expect it, even he bought me bottles of yoghurt because he knows I love yoghurt, hahaha. I still remember when we were on the line to buy the ticket, I open my yoghurt and he said, “Actually it’s not good anymore to drink it after few hours taken from the freezer.” I was saying, “Why?” He explains that it can contains bactery and else. I just said, “Ah well, I am Indonesian, I use to eat anything in anytime, my belly is strong.” Hahahaha.

Actually, the system for using the bus ticket is so simple. First, you have to check the bus timetable in their website. You can make your own itineraries to go to the cities over Europe as many as you want. Then, after you arrive in an Eurolines shelter, show your pass ticket and go book for your next trip so you won’t forget about that, miss it or even return to that shelter again just for booking the ticket when in other hands, you can use your time to going around the city.

I was really so nervous. Exciting. Happy. But very nervous. This is my first time going alone. I never did a trip in backpacker style. Never. And it’s new continent for me. Totally very different with Asia. Even in Asia, I never go on trip alone. So it’s a new thing for me, I feel like I should conquer my fears and keep my enthusiast on. I should not worry too much. Just enjoy the journey from one place to another places and let the experience leads me to the unknown places. Deep inside my heart, I feel so free and young. True, traveling can make you feeling so young and brave. It’s like you never realized that you can be that strong and happy in the same time.

 image

After saying goodbye with my brother in law and sister plus Chloe, my niece, I enter the bus and choose a window seat. I always love to watch the view on a journey. The scenery will be very different and awesome. I wish, my seat partner will be a nice person or at least not annoying, hahhaa. It takes 12 hours from Paris to Budapest. I departed around 1 pm and will arrive in Nepliget Aut, Budapest in the morning the next day. I don’t know at all that the day when I will arrive is the National Day for Hungarians, 20 August 2012, but a friend of mine just told me, so there will be fireworks, lots of food and Festival of Folks Art, so nice!

image

image

I was join to a travel community when I planned my trip to Europe. So I will meet a friend in Budapest. He promise to pick me up in the bus station, and will show me the city. The journey from Paris to Budapest is comfortably nice. For me personally, the standard of driving speed in Europe ease my feeling. The driver can not go so fast and make us in danger. So the moving of the bus constantly good. I also see many beautiful landscape of village during the journey. If before I was seeing Paris and the wealthy of it, then I cross the different area of France, we cross some villages and even Germany. We were break quite many times to buy snacks, eat, coffee or go to proper toilet. As I remember, it’s only me, the Asian, that go to Budapest with that bus. People look at me, but I’m okay with that, hahahhaa. I open my eyes hugely and grab everything that I saw.

I arrived in Budapest, my friend already there. He pick up my heavy bag and we were looking for the address of my hostel. I was staying in Hotel Rila, 1097 Budapest IX, Feher Hollo Utca 2. The guy that stay in reception place didn’t smile to me. He just asked my passport and wrote some information and gave me the key. Looks not a happy day for him, but I don’t care, hahaa. I am so ready to start my adventures. While my friend waited me on the hotel living room, I took a quick shower and check my bed. It’s a nice room. I like it. No Air Con and have 4 single bed inside. Single bed from the wood. It’s so nice. I was so lucky too because no one stay with me that night, I got the whole room alone even there’s 4 beds inside, or Dorms, as they called it.  I think in front of the hotel is playground or a school, cause I can hear the laugh of children from my room.

image

Once I was ready, we went to eat first. It was bring me in shock. The meal portions in Hungary is soooo big! I order the pasta, and very delicious yummy. My friend order rice with raisins inside. I never saw that before, and never try to eat rice with raisins, but it looks nice. Then we go to hospital to bring food for his brother, his brother was on accident and get hospitalized. After that, we went to the hill. From him I know that Budapest previously is 2 cities. Buda (West) and Pest (East).

image

In the hill, we saw the St. Mattias Church. A very beautiful church with colorful rooftop. Also we went to the Castle, and see the part of Pest below. It’s very beautiful. We saw some teenager did the choir in front of the church. I can see the famous Danube river from here, also the Chain Bridge. So Pretty. It’s very hot day, 40 degrees. I never be in such very hot degrees, even I am from Tropical country, hahahaha. But the weather in Europe is not so humid like in Indonesia. Even so hot, I didn’t sweating a lot but I feel the heat of course. When we were walking around Budapest, I still can’t believe I am finally there.

 image

image

image

Then we continued go down the hill and visit the Festival Folks of Arts.

image

image

image

image

It was so bright and sunny day. People always look so happy and so many stands to sell something. From traditional clothes of Hungary, Snacks, Ice Cream, Steak, Ceramics, so many. We walked around and I feel so curious with everything I saw. I think they love sweet and big portions for everything. I saw their candies also big.

image

image

image

image

After bought some dried fruits like Kiwi and Mixed of Berries, and the authentic of Hungarians food, which taste so good, we went to the Danube river, still in Buda sides. There’s so many people already choose their places to sit and wait for the Fireworks.

image

image

image

Fireworks itself will be started at 8 pm, and it’s still in the afternoon. WOW, they are so dedicated, didn’t they? Well, I saw from far the beautiful Parliament Building. It’s very pretty. All the details, the texture and the design. I feel so amazed with how they made it. Anyway, we went to a park and there’s a fountain. Which is not an ordinary fountain. This fountain can follow the classic music and make the dancing moves. So pretty.  We end the day with beautiful fireworks above Danube river. Many people also watch the blast of fireworks, some brings their family and children, some with their couples, some just enjoying it alone. It’s so beautiful, the fireworks and also the first day I had in Budapest.

image

xx,

Dea

Leave a Reply

