Journey Note – Trip to Budapest, Hungary (Day 2)

It’s 21 of August.

Monday.

An ideal day to go to the city. Go seeing around. Today I will walk alone. My friend can not go with me because he has another thing to do. It’s ok, I’m a little bit nervous of course. But staying the whole day in the hostel of course not on my agenda. I am now traveling alone. Backpacking by myself. Far away from my hometown, my house, my family and everything that familiar in my life. I feel scare but also I’m curious. Very. I wanna see the world! And going around in Budapest today seem like the answer of my desire, first step to do. So I pack my camera, passport and money. I put money in separated bag, so if someone steal one, I still have the rest in different place. I bring some snacks and water, in case I can’t find Super mart or maybe can not understand their language.

image

I grab my brother’s tab, he afraid that I may lost in somewhere, so he lent me his tab – very thoughtful huh? 🙂 I try to find 10 things to see in Budapest from Virtual Tourist or Lonely Planet. There was mentioning some places that should be as a must seen. Oh well, I don’t really understand the situation, so maybe it’s better if I just go to one place first and go from there to wherever my feet lead me to.

My friend told me that I can go to Hosok Tere in the beginning. Hosok Tere or in English means, The Heroes Square, it’s a place with many cultural places to be seen. For examples the Milenium Monument, Vajdahunyad Castle, Museum of Fine Arts, Zoo, and many more. As my experiences in Paris, I know that I will walk a lot. It’s very different with Indonesia. I don’t use to walk in Jakarta. Because there’s no proper pedestrians ways, also the pollution is quite heavy there. But here, in Europe, I always see people walk, walk and walk. Maybe that’s also the reason why they eat lots of cheese, meat, chocolate, milks but still slim and healthy, hahahaa.

image

We called this brand in Indonesia as “Walls”

From the hostel, I just follow the road. I didn’t see any information to reach the Subway. There is no sign of Metro or else. So I just go, until I meet with people and try to ask them where is the Subway. OMG, I didn’t expect at all that they can not speak English. I asked to a lady, and she reply me enthusiastically with Magyar language. I just so surprise and didn’t understand at all what was she talking about. I try to use my hands as people said, “gesture can be the best solution to ask direction.” After short confusion communication, finally I knew that I take the wrong way. I should turn around to reach the Subway. Well, at least, I got some information.

Again, I wasn’t so sure with my way, then I asked to a couple in front of me. A guy with lots of tattoos and a woman. They look nice and can speak English, finally! They are also tourist but they showed me the Subway, because they just went from there. Now I knew. I saw around me, the building is so different with building that I see in Paris. Here’s, every building or apartment not so glamor or not had so many relief and pattern. More humble and simple. Looks so old too. But very charming and in the other hands also very nice.

image

Finally I found the Subway. Now another problem arises. I try to buy the ticket, but I don’t understand which ticket I should buy. Not forget, I take a picture of sign board of the shelter. Afraid if I lost and not remember which shelter I should return. Hungary uses Forint or usually called, HUF (Hungarian Foring), as their currency. Forint of course more lower than Euro, but higher than Indonesia Rupiah (IDR). 1 Euro = 307 HUF when I was there. Anyhow, I still not familiar to pay everything with HUF, so I quite confuse with the counting. Behind of me, there’s already such a long line wait me finish transaction with the lady in the ticket counter. In Europe, there’s always thick glasses between seller and buyer for ticket counter, I think it’s to minimize the robbery or avoid gun shoot from someone who wants to steal their money machine.

 image

There’s 4 guys that controlling the enter gate to the Subway. They are so nice to me. One of them taught me how to put the ticket and let the Machine cut it as the proof the ticket being used. I only bought one way ticket, because I don’t understand which one better at the moment. But I am sure they have some packages like buying lots ticket with less price.

First stop that I go is Heroes Square or Hosok Tere. It’s so bad because of Monday, everything is closed. I don’t know about that, so I just walking around and tried to remember every places that I want to go the next day. I took that day as my preparation to go alone tomorrow, and can cut some time because I already know which places and road I wanna go.

image

image

image

When I arrive in Hosok Tere, I saw many people also going around in the park, even some Museums are closed. Again, it’s only me that Asian in here, hahaha… I love statues in Hosok Tere, they look so manly for me, very strong and Medieval.

image

image

I saw some people riding bicycle, but I prefer to walk, the weather is also not so bad. Then I follow some crowd and go to an area, which has an Old Castle, Museum, Church, and other beautiful building.

image

image

image

 image

Ok, when I am walking alone in this area, I can’t stand to stay for long time, I wanna to know and see the whole area, but the statue quite make me nervous and wanna run away, hahaha, I feel my neck also a little bit cold, so I think I better go find some crowd again 😀

image

Good for me, then I found some people gathered to watch a cinema outdoor. Maybe it’s like independence or festival movie, well, I just took a look for a while, because I don’t understand their language if I spend one hour watching, hahaha…

image

Ok, enough with Vajdahunyad Castle area. Now I wanna find where is the House of Terror. I wish it’s not so far from my place now. I try to look map on my hands, but I don’t understand direction, oh No, sometimes, I am so disoriented person!! I’m going around and around, and I ended up in a zoo.

image

Then I saw a very beautiful building, which I thought a cultural place or something, but.. in fact, it’s a SPA. Yeah, a SPA. Too bad I didn’t try it hiks. I was thinking, tomorrow I will try it, but it’s always forgotten, as usual when you are on the trip. I always think, we travel, it’s better to do something spontaneously and NOW, rather than regret later.

image

I DIDN’T FIND the House of Terror!

Now I really feel such in terror. I tried to ask people, but they don’t know English, and just go away without trying to help me. Just for your info, it’s better to point out your map and ask them with the original name of a place. Even it’s so hard to pronounce it, but some people didn’t get it, if you say a name of place in English version. For example Museum of Fine Art probably the actual name is Szepmuveszeti Muzeum.

I already tired and feel dizzy. I started to careless about direction and just follow people in front of me. Then I saw a chair, I better to sit for a while and take a breathe. I feel I wanna cry. Those excitements in beginning when I left the Hostel feel disappear right away. I almost want to find a cab and just go back to Hostel. My spirit of adventure felt so weak and I am so hungry!!

Thank God, finally I asked again to a guy, here’s come an answer. He showed me the way to the House of Terror which is in Andrassy ut (Ut means Street in Magyar). He spoke English very fluent and I feel like a breeze in the middle of afternoon, hahhaa. Oh ya, oh ya, finally I see the building. Grey and look so nice. C’mon, it’s also closed! But I promise myself I SHOULD COME to that place!!!

image

I take my lunch in Burger King near with Oktogon, hahaa, Fast Food is the quicker choice if you are in deep hungry and can eat a tiger hahaha. Also in Burger King, you can find Wifi for free!! PS : If you are Asian, and can not eat without chilli, bring your own sauces. Their sauces even written hot, it’s not spicy at all, and you need to pay for your sauce.

image

image

Just for your information, I was walking from Hosok Tere station to Oktogon, it’s quite faaaarrrr, but I enjoy it.

image

image

Can they make it a little bit better?

I’ve got a call from my friend. Because he is so busy the whole day, he made up it with a promise to take me to Citadel, it’s up there on the hill, with famous statue that use as a sign of Freedom. You can see the whole Budapest city from here, so beautiful! Before we went to the hill, we ate in Hungarian restaurant. I chose a beef which cook with wine, which look like “rendang” for me, without spicy taste of course. My friend can not drink alcohol at all because he was driving. The policy in Budapest is so strict, if you have an accident on the road and Police caught you having an alcohol in your blood, they can put you in the jail. Even if you got it from the food, still, they will charge you or prisoning you. Oh ewww… That’s not a good idea.

image

image

Btw, there’s a story before we met up for dinner. My friend asked me where was I, so he can pick me up, then I don’t know where I was. My friend told me to see a board in every corner of the building, usually in their wall, there’s written the name of the address. I saw it, and I mention it to my friend. In 10 minutes he arrived in a rush and he saw me in the shock, I was saying : “What’s up? Why do you look at me like that?” Then he explained that the place I stand to wait for him it’s the most dangerous street in Budapest. I am the only woman and stand there in the dark with my bag and camera, anything can be happened to me. Thanks God, I am safe and secure. God still loves me and want me in a good condition… *palm face*

image

I made this picture in that “dangerous” street

From Citadel, you can see the city of the light until 12 am. The whole city looks so bright and shinny.  After 12 am, all the main lamp will be turned off by government. But before that, you can see the beautiful of Danube River, the St. Stephen Basilica, Parliament Building with lots of lamps and bright so beautiful in the middle of the night. So worth to see for up there!!!

image

I am right, it’s so beautiful isn’t it?

xx,

Dea

Leave a Reply

