Weekend Escape – Hiking to Papandayan Mountain (Part 2)

A very loud noise woke me up. It came from our neighbor on the camping ground. He just made a joke about one guy in our group. That’s about the hiking world, later on, it’s so small and you can meet up with people who you already knew on the top of mountain. Man who spoke so loud in a very early morning was my friend junior in high school, so they know each other well to able make some noisy jokes in the morning.

I woke up finally when I heard all my friends shout, “Sunrise time, let’s catch up the Sunrise!” I tried to waking up Ika, but she preferred to sleep which I understand why. What happened to me when I was backpacking in Prague, now happen in Papandayan – I was sick and cause me a total sore body. Ika felt a bit sick too, so I let her continue sleeping while we tried in hurry to go to Guberhood, a good place for us to see the Sunrise.

Yeah, the road in very early morning was so damp with morning dews. Many times I almost fell down because it’s so slippery. I bought new flashlight for this trip but it should be charged with electricity. Of course in the mountain you can’t get electricity so easily, then my flashlight died after used some times. So hard to walk in blurry Sun light, I need a help from my friend to light my way to avoid me felt down. When we arrived in Guberhood, the sun almost emerge and we need a bit hurry and find comfort place to stand and enjoy the Sunrise.

Weekend Escape – Hiking to Papandayan Mountain (Part 2)33

Weekend Escape – Hiking to Papandayan Mountain (Part 2)30

Slowly, the clouds change into beautiful natural painting. Some red, yellow, orange and blue just like mixed together to show us the magical process of the coming of the Sun to the world. A circle strange light just showed up make it looks like an Alien who wanna come to earth. What a bizarre view.

Weekend Escape – Hiking to Papandayan Mountain (Part 2)31

Weekend Escape – Hiking to Papandayan Mountain (Part 2)32

The sunrise actually was not so maximal as we expect, but seeing the view surrounding make me hold my breathe since I just realized how high we are now and what kind of road that we already step to arrive in this place. Unbelievable!

Weekend Escape – Hiking to Papandayan Mountain (Part 2)34

Weekend Escape – Hiking to Papandayan Mountain (Part 2)36

This is what so cool to go to a trip with friends, they can make so many jokes around. And my friend just so ready and bring the stove so we able to boil hot water and make coffee for us. What a perfect match for enjoying a cold morning and sunrise. By using only one bowl, we played a ridiculous game such as guessing what this bowl can be aside as a coffee glass then people answered with many weird stuff (I think I laughed too much in Papandayan, that’s why now when I back to Jakarta, I feel so lack of energy, lol).

Weekend Escape – Hiking to Papandayan Mountain (Part 2)37

Weekend Escape – Hiking to Papandayan Mountain (Part 2)35

After some times in Guberhood, we back to our tent and try to have some breakfast. Enjoying the warm weather with Sun shine on our faces, we were a bit lazy and lay down for a while until it times to pack our stuff and tent and continue our journey.

Weekend Escape – Hiking to Papandayan Mountain (Part 2)38

This time we are going to Dead Forest and need to cross a field with beautiful Edelweiss Flower Trees. OMG, it was my first time seeing so many Edelweiss Flower and it’s trees. I saw Edelweiss since Junior High School but it always be told that people who can see the tree it’s only ones who dare to beat the altitude to arrive on top of the mountain. So I never think I can do that, but now I did it, I am so affected and happy!! Finally I can see this trees with my own eyes, huhuhuuu 😛

Weekend Escape – Hiking to Papandayan Mountain (Part 2)39

Weekend Escape – Hiking to Papandayan Mountain (Part 2)41

Just walk further more, we arrived in Dead Forest. Oh my, another breathtaking view! Actually the fact why the Dead Forest is exist a bit terrible, because there was a fire around 2012, and ironically it was assumption happened because of tourist fire rubbish or something and forget to shut down the fire. Result of the fire, there’s a huge of area with so many dead black trees, that’s why it called as Dead Forest. The area reminds me of Lord of the Ring movie, truly it feels like not in Indonesia but in another world. Or maybe we were absorbing into the other parts of the world that afternoon.

Weekend Escape – Hiking to Papandayan Mountain (Part 2)40

Weekend Escape – Hiking to Papandayan Mountain (Part 2)42

Weekend Escape – Hiking to Papandayan Mountain (Part 2)43

The mist rose higher, time’s up and we need to go down the hill to reaching Camp David again and back to Jakarta. This time, the road more to rocky and we have to use more our feet fingers to hold our weight and step strongly on that scree. Exact on our right there was a huge cliff, so we should be more careful even the mountain is so big, the area is so vast, but also it won’t be nice if we fall down and hit our head by the stones down there. The small rocks make our way more slippery.

Weekend Escape – Hiking to Papandayan Mountain (Part 2)45

Ok, this time could be another challenge for each of us. Who would have thought that some tough people can be so scared while step down the hills, hahaa, I know this is not funny, but saw their face and how they scream many times because of the obstacle make us laugh out loud. It’s kinda fun to tease them and when I still keep block the way and took some pictures, people behind me screamed such as “Dea, walk, walk, keep walk in, don’t stop and make lots of picture. Later, later!” I just smile and laugh to my friend 😛

Weekend Escape – Hiking to Papandayan Mountain (Part 2)44

Weekend Escape – Hiking to Papandayan Mountain (Part 2)46

Weekend Escape – Hiking to Papandayan Mountain (Part 2)49

Weekend Escape – Hiking to Papandayan Mountain (Part 2)50

Our walk home more relax and took longer time cause we have all the time. Our tired body also make us not in hurry, just enjoying the view, walk, take pictures, walk again while enjoying the view again. Then I saw one craziest thing on the mountain, a man tried to cross the mountain, that scree with loads of stones by his motorbike. Even he used that offroad kind of motorbike, still what he did is so risky. Not only that, he brought his little son, and this kid should walk a bit while waiting his dad success against that road. Crazy! What kind of parent is that? And can he just use normal road rather than hike to the mountain with inappropriate way by that machine? Speechless.

Weekend Escape – Hiking to Papandayan Mountain (Part 2)51

Anyhow, we arrived in Camp David and clean up our body in small hot spring river. After ate our lunch, fried rice with chicken, a humble way to eat but completely ok with that hot sweet tea – help us to gain another energy before we jump again to the Pick Up car which will bring us down to Cisurupan. After saying goodbye to Komik, our cool and nice guide in Papandayan, we started our journey down while Jaya, our bikepacker friend followed us behind.

Weekend Escape – Hiking to Papandayan Mountain (Part 2)47

Weekend Escape – Hiking to Papandayan Mountain (Part 2)48

Courtesy photo of Sanjaya Arifin | My camera battery was dead

 

The road more felt crazy because we have to going down in broken roads. The holes make the car shaking more and our ass feel so painful. I feel a bit sad as I always have when I need to say goodbye to a beautiful place, because that’s also mean, my vacation is over, need to go back to reality, my boring desk in Jakarta.

We choose Primajasa Bus this time, better that the first bus we took. It cost us cheaper, only 42.000 idr/person. But another painful journey for our ass. True true, it’s so painful even until I arrived Jakarta. It’s all because the damn traffic from Bandung – Jakarta cost us 10 hours on the road and make our body really feels so weary (usually only 6-7 hours). From Garut we departed around 4 pm and arrived in Lebak Bulus bus station, Jakarta around 2 am. What a journey! What a traffic! But it was worth it, the trip to Papandayan can be counted as one of my priceless journey. Not only because of the beautiful places and new experiences that I got, it’s also because I spent so good time with good people, we had fun together and now I understand the statement ; “A journey is best measured in friends, rather than miles.” – Tim Cahill. That’s so true!

Weekend Escape – Hiking to Papandayan Mountain (Part 2)52

“A journey is best measured in friends, rather than miles.” – Tim Cahill

xx,

Dea

8 comments

  1. Reading your stories is making my 7 hour layover in Dubai so much more entertaining…fun to read and really nice pics. I’m returning from a courier run to Germany. Wish I had your energy!!!

    Like

    • Hullaaaaa David! You do have the energies, I envy your trip as well 🙂 – Hahhaa, cool if it can entertained you a bit – long trip never so good right, sore legs, sore feet but many things to see 🙂

      Like

  2. Hi! I’m planning a trip to Mt Papandayan and came across your wonderful post about it 🙂

    May I know where did you get the contact for your guides and how much did you pay for it?

    Thank you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

