Day 2 Trekking in Nepal, Ulleri, you will never be forgotten!

I felt morning was arising quite early today. I can’t get a really good long sleep last night, since the dog of Dipak (the Lodge owner) always howled all the time that night. Suddenly I remember we are in Himalaya hills, which made me feel I am very close to every possible conditions where someone is in the middle of forest. The howl of that dog brought me in some crazy imaginations and in fear. I felt so close to the mountain, I felt like I was in the middle of nowhere on the dark night with the loud of dog’s howling close to my ears. Many times I opened my eyes and found myself still in that tiny Lodge, inside of the sleeping bag, warm enough but trying so hard to close my eyes and sleep again. When finally the sun almost set up, I can sleep a bit well, but too late, time’s up and I need to wake up for get ready to continue our trekking. In total, I only slept for few hours. People said, quality is better than quantity, so I woke up and take shower immediately then get ready for continue our trekking. It’s already 7 am anyway.

Day 2 Trekking in Nepal, Ulleri, you will never be forgotten!3

 Why you were barking the whole night, lovely dog?

After eat all of our breakfast, we said goodbye to the friendly guy, Mr. Dipak, the owner of the guest house and made picture together with him, he such a cheerful person, made our staying in his place was memorable. He is the one who also cooking and the food taste was really really yummy, yumm-yumm, my favorite meals during this trekking.

Day 2 Trekking in Nepal, Ulleri, you will never be forgotten!1

 

I have no idea what kind of track that will wait for us. Later on, I found out the track from Hile, Tikhedhunga to Ulleri is really crazy! The Ulleri part really almost kill my legs! So many stairs we have to climbed. The stairs made from irregular rocks, which sometimes you need to step the huge stone with such sufficient height. It was like a never ending story… I know the higher we up, the beautiful view we get. So there we were, in one point while we can’t see Dipak’s house anymore.

Day 2 Trekking in Nepal, Ulleri, you will never be forgotten!4

Day 2 Trekking in Nepal, Ulleri, you will never be forgotten!2

From Hile, we were crossing the Tikhedhunga village. Lakpa, our guide was right. It’s better to stop in Hile and stay over night there. The view in Tikhedhunga wasn’t that nice comparing to Hile. Now, I really listen to what he suggest to us. It’s already second times he was right, first when he suggest us to stopped in Hile, rather than continue our walk to Ulleri yesterday (Now after crossing the Ulleri, I understand why! – because our first day will be so fully tired and maybe we will have anymore power to continue on our second day). And another one is about his choice of Dipak’s Guest House.

Day 2 Trekking in Nepal, Ulleri, you will never be forgotten!5

 

During our walk in Ulleri, we met with others tourist from Spain. 2 men, 1 woman and their guide. We all together so exhausted to crossing the Ulleri and need to stop so many times. We made a joke about the crazy stairs while all of our t-shirt and pants become so wet because of sweating. At one time, I can no longer walk and very tired, I only wanna do to lay my body on the ground and take a breathe. That’s so good that we brought the trekking pole (stick), it was really help us a lot.

Day 2 Trekking in Nepal, Ulleri, you will never be forgotten!7

View from my eyes, while I laid my body on the ground. So deadly tired!

Day 2 Trekking in Nepal, Ulleri, you will never be forgotten!6

Day 2 Trekking in Nepal, Ulleri, you will never be forgotten!8

Finally we arrived Ulleri! Oh, thanks God!!

 

Also with us, there are a teacher and his student. They just went from Nayapul to buy some chickens. They need to walk up and down the hills from Ulleri to Nayapul around 8 hours, only to buy 6 chickens. Wow! And the student always lead us on the first line while hiking. Nepali people are really true strong! The teacher invited us to visit the school, so we went there for a while and that was touched my heart. We came inside of the classroom, and find out the children that learn in that room come from different ages. They are 9, 10, 11, 12 years old. As for me, I never went in same room with children different age as mine. And they also looked so happy and cheerful, they told me what they favorite subject at class. “I love Science,” one kid told me, while the other said “I love Math!” Oh wowww.. their desire to study is really great. We also met up with other teachers in the school. So proud by how they so hearty teaching the children. As we may guess, the earnings they got maybe not much comparing to work in the city. But they chose to stay and sharing the knowledge and dreams to those children. I really respect their decision and hard works. If you want to help, you can put your donation in the charity box.

Day 2 Trekking in Nepal, Ulleri, you will never be forgotten!9

Day 2 Trekking in Nepal, Ulleri, you will never be forgotten!10

The teacher and his student took their lunch, after so tired walk for 8 hours from Nayapul

Day 2 Trekking in Nepal, Ulleri, you will never be forgotten!11

The school in Ulleri Village

Day 2 Trekking in Nepal, Ulleri, you will never be forgotten!12

Day 2 Trekking in Nepal, Ulleri, you will never be forgotten!13

We were stopping in Himalayan Lodge and Restaurant for taking our lunch. You need extra patient to wait them cooking your meals. I ate chocolate while waiting and take a rest, while my friend sleep (literally sleep) on the chair. This lodge runs by a Nepali Couple, always smiling and say “Namaste” to us. It’s 1 pm already, need another 3 hours to arrive Ghorepani. I think my feets can’t move anymore. It felt so numb and deadly tired! I also glad I followed Lakpa’s suggestion again by wearing my sneakers rather than trekking sandals I used yesterday. The stairs journey wasn’t that convenience with sandals. Shoes are better, even a sneakers kind-of-shoes. All of my friend called me crazy when they know I go on a trekking with sneakers, but actually you can, well, it’s still fine for this Poon Hill track. While waiting for the food, I went around the restaurant and take a look. The view was awesome.

Day 2 Trekking in Nepal, Ulleri, you will never be forgotten!15

Day 2 Trekking in Nepal, Ulleri, you will never be forgotten!14

 

Day 2 Trekking in Nepal, Ulleri, you will never be forgotten!17
I ordered mashed potato, which later I regret. It wasn’t look and taste as mashed potato I ever ate before. And an omelette. I know it’s kind of weird to order those meals for lunch, but I’m too tired to eat big portion of food, so I thought maybe that food will be ok. Too bad, I didn’t like the taste and I only ate half of it. After finished with our meals, the lady come to take our plates and she asked about my necklace. Indeed I wore a necklace from Kalimantan, an island in Indonesia. Many people in Nepal asked me about the necklace, because it’s sure not our pattern of art, I kind of glad and proud because they said it’s so nice, glad that I can let people know about Indonesia’s art.

Day 2 Trekking in Nepal, Ulleri, you will never be forgotten!18

Day 2 Trekking in Nepal, Ulleri, you will never be forgotten!19

Momo, the authentic Nepali snack

We continued our walk until we’re reaching Ghorepani. This time, we need to cross the forest. I don’t have any bad assumptions while we pass the forest. But later on, it can be a very annoying track part during the trekking. It’s monsoon, so all the leaches will be happy to find out human passing the forest. They really easily felt our body heat and get sticky to us, suck our blood until they feel full and become so fat! When the rain came, we were put our backpack on the ground and took our raincoat, at that moment, the chance for leaches to stay still on our backpack and running to our raincoat. Along the way to Ghorepani, I felt something clammy around my neck, but I avoid the feeling and think maybe that was only a water. Later on when I got shower, I just knew, there was so many blood on my back! Leach sucked my blood happily and it goes died in obesity of blood! I heard leach sucks our dirty blood and also some people use it for healing, but still, that’s so disgusting to see and feel your blood goes to that greedy animals!

 

We stayed in Snow-View Lodge in Ghorepani. So many western tourist when we arrived there. The Lodge has a fireplace which able to make us warm and also dry some of our sweaty clothes and socks. The good thing about this Lodge, it has wifi, you need to pay 100 Nepali Rupees to able using the wifi. You can use it during your stay in Snow-View and only need to pay one time.

No more energy left tonight, after finished dinner, we went to bed early with our exhausted body.

That night, strong wind came and banging its strenght to our window. We are so close to Poon Hill! I can feel it.

Good night..

Day 2 Trekking in Nepal, Ulleri, you will never be forgotten!21

 

Dea

Leave a Reply

