Day 3 Trekking in Nepal, Finally Poon Hill, Finally Annapurna!

It was still an early morning. After a strong wind came through the village last night, Ghorepani sounded so cold and quiet this morning. Of course, it’s still 3 in the morning. After prepare for some stuff to bring, we will hike to the Poon Hill, our final destination of this trek. I saw some traveller also get ready to go. I wonder why in Ghorepani, there were lots of western traveler, which I didn’t see them along the way from Nayapul to here. Lakpa told me, they probably came from another ways, such from Annapurna Base Camp (ABC), Jomson, etc etc (I haven’t no idea about this places name before, but now, those names sound so familiar on my ears). Ghorepani more like the famous stop and bigger village comparing to other villages.

We left our bags and only bring important stuff such as camera, water and some biscuit for our ransom while on the top. When I heard from Lakpa that it’s going to be another 1-1,5 hours hike by stone stairs to arrive to Poon Hill, I wanna scream loudly, not again, not again stairs pleaseeee.. Lakpa only smiled and assured me that it’s ok, we will able to hike it no matter how slowly we were. I was in doubt with myself, during the journey, I always complaint and mad and scream, “when will it be finished, Lakpa?” “Where is Poon Hill?” Until I tired myself to be so grumpy, then later, I just enjoyed the hiking, it won’t be a magnificent sunrise anyway, since the clouds so gloomy and thick, but lucky us, there’s no raining this morning. Yesterday, it was raining in the morning and last night, it was kinda storm on the village.

I looked around while slowly defeat the stairs. Raymond my friend, and Lakpa, already went a head. I enjoyed the view, still feeling so amazed that we finally being there. That I could do it! Before when I planned this trip, I wonder whether I can really do the trek, and when I was hiking from villages after villages, from hills after hills, I was more questioning myself whether I will able to arrive to Poon Hill or not? The journey seemed like never ending journey, but here we are, only hundreds meter left to finally step on Poon Hill, right now, the view already priceless.

Day 3 Trekking in Nepal, Finally Poon Hill, Finally Annapurna!3

Day 3 Trekking in Nepal, Finally Poon Hill, Finally Annapurna!4

Exactly around 1,5 hours, we arrived in Poon Hill. So Poon Hill is a view point while you can see Annapurna mountains range in such a clear distance. Poon Hill is founded by Maj. Tek Bahadur Poon that lies in 3210 meters above the sea level.  There is a tower and you can hike up to get a better view.

Day 3 Trekking in Nepal, Finally Poon Hill, Finally Annapurna!7

Day 3 Trekking in Nepal, Finally Poon Hill, Finally Annapurna!5

Day 3 Trekking in Nepal, Finally Poon Hill, Finally Annapurna!6

Me and Lakpa, our guide

Day 3 Trekking in Nepal, Finally Poon Hill, Finally Annapurna!8

There were already some traveler around the Poon Hill, we have one same similarity, red face! Everyone who just arrived sound so exhausted, hard breathing and had red face like a lobster, hahhaa. When we arrived, the clouds still cover the ranges, I asked myself, so where is it the famous Annapurna? I didn’t see any of that cool peaks?

 

Day 3 Trekking in Nepal, Finally Poon Hill, Finally Annapurna!9

I saw this memorial altar, when I read the placard on the stone, it’s written so beautifully…

Day 3 Trekking in Nepal, Finally Poon Hill, Finally Annapurna!1

Can you read it? So touchy yaa…

Day 3 Trekking in Nepal, Finally Poon Hill, Finally Annapurna!11

The Macchapuchare aka Fish Tail – the peak looks like fish tail

But later on, when slowly sun shines through the world and cover up the mountains, I almost scream inside my heart, “Oh, there you are pretty!” In front of my eyes, there was lying the beautiful, great, strong, magnificent, Annapurna mountains range. So strong! Until I only able can stand in the silent, amazed with the view. There are also another famous peaks instead Annapurna 1-6 and Annapurna South, I could see the Dhaulagiri (it turned to be my most fave peak to see) and Macchapuchare or Fish Tail, a mountain which has a peak looked like fish tail, that’s why they named it like that..

Day 3 Trekking in Nepal, Finally Poon Hill, Finally Annapurna!2

The taller one is Annapurna South

Day 3 Trekking in Nepal, Finally Poon Hill, Finally Annapurna!12

When the morning comes, the strong wind also comes, I put my jacket on then..

Day 3 Trekking in Nepal, Finally Poon Hill, Finally Annapurna!13

There were some Chinese travelers that sat down and pray to the mountain. I didn’t blame them with their belief, for me personally, the mountains lied in front of me are so great, but that time, I felt so amaze with God. The One who create this world, the mountains, us, human. I felt so tiny comparing to everything, all my problems also looked so tiny and small, all my dreams looked so possible to be reached. Honestly to say, I feel everything is possible when I saw Annapurna! Even for my future – dunno why, I was such overwhelmed in the beauty of Annapurna and it such brought me a positive vibe. I felt anything is possible in my life since then.

Day 3 Trekking in Nepal, Finally Poon Hill, Finally Annapurna!14

Day 3 Trekking in Nepal, Finally Poon Hill, Finally Annapurna!15

Day 3 Trekking in Nepal, Finally Poon Hill, Finally Annapurna!16

Day 3 Trekking in Nepal, Finally Poon Hill, Finally Annapurna!17

I didn’t want to leave this place.

But we need to went down, and continued our walk to another village, wish we could arrive at Ghandruk before dark comes.

Day 3 Trekking in Nepal, Finally Poon Hill, Finally Annapurna!18

Another 1 hour to went down from Poon Hill to Snow View Lodge, Ghorepani. It more easy that the way up. Even it’s quite hard for my knees every time I need to step down and pounding all my weight to my feet. It’s like one difficult step still for me, but at least, I don’t need to spend extra energy to step up. It’s also more beautiful since the morning sun already rise up and light the road and make surrounding more clearly.

Day 3 Trekking in Nepal, Finally Poon Hill, Finally Annapurna!19

Day 3 Trekking in Nepal, Finally Poon Hill, Finally Annapurna!20

Day 3 Trekking in Nepal, Finally Poon Hill, Finally Annapurna!21

We still had a chance to eat our breakfast before continue the journey. Today’s route is quite difficult for us, not because of the height, cause the track mostly are going down, but because it will take another 8 hours trekking. Plus the early hike to Poon Hill, in total, we were spending time walking more than 8 hours. We got prepare our stuff while the rain start to pouring it’s water to the world. O, oww, it can be no good for us…

Day 3 Trekking in Nepal, Finally Poon Hill, Finally Annapurna!23

We were to plan to arrive in Ghandruk, but in the end, we can’t arrive there before dark. We need to stopped in Basikaskhar village. Basikaskhar it’s not such an active place as normally village we stayed over before. Maybe because people choose to go to Ghandruk directly than stay in Basikaskhar, but lucky for us that we stopped there, since after we arrived Basikaskhar, rain started to come.

I have such a very bad mood because of leaches. It bites me always, they just suddenly appear without notice, on my hands, on my feet, on my socks, on my bag, I hate it! But it’s monsoon, so kind of pretty normal the leaches it’s everywhere on the forest. Because of the leaches, I avoid to take a break long time at one place. I prefer to stop for really few seconds, and continued to walk again. Every time I need to stop because I was so tired, I make sure the surface that I stepped it’s dry and no leaches.

Day 3 Trekking in Nepal, Finally Poon Hill, Finally Annapurna!22

Day 3 Trekking in Nepal, Finally Poon Hill, Finally Annapurna!24

We walked down and up the hills many times, and need to face this thick fog, so cold!

Day 3 Trekking in Nepal, Finally Poon Hill, Finally Annapurna!25

This kind of stones stack will you find many along the way, I wonder what’s that it mean…

Day 3 Trekking in Nepal, Finally Poon Hill, Finally Annapurna!26

Day 3 Trekking in Nepal, Finally Poon Hill, Finally Annapurna!27

Day 3 Trekking in Nepal, Finally Poon Hill, Finally Annapurna!28

The track from Ghorepani to Basikaskhar, it’s all mostly going down, only in some parts you need to hike, but it’s forest, mean so many leaches – I hate it :S

Tonight, I felt so ill. Suddenly I felt so weak and so cold. I ordered dinner early and take some medicines I brought from Indonesia. Umm well, thing you need to bring is sleeping bag – if you care enough about your pillow, maybe you also can bring your own pillow. The Lodge we stayed that night is quite dusty and so humble. I don’t care that enough cause I’m so tired. I covered all my body with lots of t-shirt, thick jacket, double socks and hiding inside of the sleeping bag. I guess, the days walk in a row cause my body imbalance for a while. I wish tomorrow it’s a better body and better health.

Day 3 Trekking in Nepal, Finally Poon Hill, Finally Annapurna!29

Trying to recover myself by consume some herbal medicines I bring from Indonesia 😉

xxx,

Dea

2 comments

Leave a Reply

