Day 4 Trekking in Nepal, Last Day of Trekking, Back to Nayapul

This day 4 for our trekking in Annapurna conservation area. Yesterday we already reached Poon Hill and today is our schedule to going down and reaching Nayapul, before back to Pokhara city. I woke up with the sore body. I never been trek for few days in a row, so it’s really important to have regular exercise before decided to do this kind of thing. My body felt like in a shock, every time I need to make a step, it felt like lifting a heavy wood, not my own legs. I put so many herbal medicine such as koyo and muscle gels to make it feel better, and yes, it was helping me to walk again, at least.

Day 4 Trekking in Nepal, Last Day of Trekking, Back to Nayapul1

 

Together with us, there was also a group of traveler from Finland and America, the three of them often we met along the way, because we were going to same place. Their today’s schedule also for going down to Nayapul, so when we were preparing our stuff, they also did. The thing is, even we started in the same time, usually they will walk faster than us, hahahaa, maybe because they are western, taller than us and had such a long step comparing to us. My friend joked to me, “Let’s walk first, start first, because later they will arrive first than us.”

Day 4 Trekking in Nepal, Last Day of Trekking, Back to Nayapul4

Saying farewell to Basikhaskar Village

 

We left Basikhaskar at 8 in the morning, this time, we were walking so fast to avoid leaches that I hate most and we wanna finished the trekking soon. I realized how I was so wanting the trekking end soon. I felt so enough with such tired walking, as for today, we will walk again for 8 hours. Walking for 8 hours in flat surface will be fine, but in such up and down ground, it will be so difficult. I wished it end soon, but when I looked around the Himalaya hills, I understand, I will miss this view, miss this experience, miss to see this great nature when once I back to the crowded city. So today the last day, I enjoyed every details of scenery while keep make sure my feet followed the speed of Lakpa and Raymond’s steps.

Day 4 Trekking in Nepal, Last Day of Trekking, Back to Nayapul5

 

Day 4 Trekking in Nepal, Last Day of Trekking, Back to Nayapul2

Along the way, we met also with another traveler, she went solo on the trekking, she’s from UK and a dancer who performed in many countries. She showed us some pictures of her while performing which quite impressive. Most of the performance are like Broadway show of Moulin Rouge. That’s why she kind of muscle body and very easy to step the track while brought such a heavy backpack.

Day 4 Trekking in Nepal, Last Day of Trekking, Back to Nayapul3

 

There was a funny story while I walked slowly passing the village. I met with a kid who turned to be so cute for a picture. We took a photo together and she asked for chocolate. Yes, so many kids in Nepal who will ask for chocolate when you meet them. Better than money, right? She made a pose and after I gave her one chocolate, she asked for more and say again, “Chocolate?” I told her, “You already got chocolate from me.” She said, “No, chocolate?” while hide one chocolate from me behind her back. I was laughing at first and told her, “No, no, you already got one from me, I don’t have more chocolate.” But she kept insist which make me annoyed later. When I still said, I don’t have another chocolate, finally she left me. Why I such be in an argue with a little creature about chocolate, lol, but how the way she want to cheated on me kinda annoying, hahaha.

Day 4 Trekking in Nepal, Last Day of Trekking, Back to Nayapul7

Day 4 Trekking in Nepal, Last Day of Trekking, Back to Nayapul6

 

Anyway, we kept walking and pass the village. I can’t count how many hills that we already passed by. So many I guess! My sneakers broken and when I took a rest on the side of the river, I even can’t lift my own body, hahaha. Terrible exhausted! But we kept walking and walking, the view was breathtaking, I know I’m gonna miss it a lot!

Day 4 Trekking in Nepal, Last Day of Trekking, Back to Nayapul8

Day 4 Trekking in Nepal, Last Day of Trekking, Back to Nayapul9

Day 4 Trekking in Nepal, Last Day of Trekking, Back to Nayapul1-2

Day 4 Trekking in Nepal, Last Day of Trekking, Back to Nayapul10

 

Finally we arrived in Ghandruk-I, Super View Lodge and Restaurant, and yes, it was built in such a super view area! We can saw many village down under, and that was so pretty! We decided to take our lunch there. The owner of the restaurant is an old man with his family, the owner turned to be so friendly and wishing us so beautiful wish, for us to be safe on the journey, God bless us and perhaps come back again to Nepal in another time. Next to the restaurant, there was a school and when we were there, it’s a break time so I saw many children take a rest by gather with their friends, enjoying chips while having a chit chat, while the other played football and the other returned to their home to eat or just take a rest at home. When the teacher rang the bell, sign that the class will be started in very soon, all the children running so fast , even the one who has home  a bit further away. They run and looked so happy. They go to their school with sandals and some of the kids asked to my friend whether he has pencils for them or not. That’s so touching for me! I remember how the city kids always make so many reason for not going to school or don’t want to listen their teacher. But here, they really so respect with their teacher, and teacher here also so brave in my point of view. So many things they need to sacrifice in order to share their knowledge for the children and making them have a better life. I remember the Ulleri kids we visited yesterday.

Day 4 Trekking in Nepal, Last Day of Trekking, Back to Nayapul13

Day 4 Trekking in Nepal, Last Day of Trekking, Back to Nayapul12

Day 4 Trekking in Nepal, Last Day of Trekking, Back to Nayapul11

Day 4 Trekking in Nepal, Last Day of Trekking, Back to Nayapul14

Day 4 Trekking in Nepal, Last Day of Trekking, Back to Nayapul15

Lunch with the view, so beautiful… You can’t ask for more…. 🙂

 

We arrived in one village that I heard from Lakpa, our guide, that probably we can take a jeep ride to Nayapul if there is local people want to go there as well. Lucky us, there is one driver who was standing by on the village, also some local people who wanna go to Nayapul as well. After discussed with the driver, because road to Nayapul was damaged, so probably we can’t go to Nayapul but will stop in the village near Nayapul, which was ok for us. Any lift or help for reducing some meters to walk for us was such a good news! So we took the ride. Together with the local people, that jeep move on in such a heavy lift. Of course it was, there are 4 people in front seats, while in the middle another 4 people, behind is 3 guys with so many bags. In the middle of the road, there was a guy who also asked to join the jeep, the driver said yes, and the guy standing next to the driver while holding tightly the jeep’s window. Soooo CRAZY! But it was fun for me, especially the route was quite dangerous. We need to crossed such steep hills and the craziest part when the jeep crossing the waterfalls, OMG, this Nepali guy really really really so crazy! Inside of my heart, I pray harder for not such a bad thing happened to the car. Here I am, safe and sound, so the jeep can made it. When we are in the middle of the journey, we saw the Finland and America traveler walking, me and Raymond waved our hands to them, their faces kind of confuse to see us riding a jeep. Oh well, honestly, I felt a bit funny, hehee, finally this Asians can go faster than you by the help of this jeep, lol.

Day 4 Trekking in Nepal, Last Day of Trekking, Back to Nayapul17

Day 4 Trekking in Nepal, Last Day of Trekking, Back to Nayapul16

Can you see that man standing next to the driver?

Day 4 Trekking in Nepal, Last Day of Trekking, Back to Nayapul18

So we go pass the waterfalls, hold on tight dear!

 

Another crazy decision this stubborn driver made while he decided to keep crossing the damaged road to make us arrive in Nayapul rather than stop in the middle of journey. I really respect his kindness, but that’s such not necessary, since we all saw the road was too damaged for passing bay. But he kept insist and insist, and in the end, we still need to continued our journey by walking from that part because the jeep got stuck. I felt so sorry for the driver, who will help him to get out the jeep from such a deep muddy road? We paid for 700 Nepali Rupees for the three of us, maybe because 2 of us is can be counted as tourist, so the price higher than the local. Local only need to pay around 100 Nepali Rupees. But I don’t care, at least we can finish our walk faster than it should be.

Day 4 Trekking in Nepal, Last Day of Trekking, Back to Nayapul20

 

Finally we arrived in Nayapul, a place that I already seen before so it was kind like a deja-vu. I saw my fave snacks sold by an Indian couple, we took 3 of it and I really loveeeeee it! Samosa in Nepal really different with the one I had in Indonesia. The hot samosa can healed my tired body while waiting for our driver to pick us up and bring us back to Pokhara. Once he arrived, he acted so aggressively happy and to excited to meet us, during the ride, he told us about Nepali languages which kind of funny for us to learn it. But we were aware that he kind of drunk. Oh NO! I can’t sleep the whole journey back to Pokhara cause I’m afraid that something happened to us. At least, we should make him kept sober by talk with him, actually, he always keep talking, so need my effort to create a conversation. I can see mostly Nepali people love to sit outside rather than inside of the house. During the journey, I saw many of them sitting and talk with neighbors outside. They love to be in a society!

 

We were again staying in Lotus Inn, we don’t want to waste our time to find for another place to stay for one more night in Pokhara, tomorrow morning we plan to go to Sarangkot , if we were lucky, we will get the sunrise, if not, yeah, at least I satisfied my curiosity with the famous Sarangkot. Later on, the worst thing happened. We didn’t get the sunrise but we met with such a group of ladies from Indonesia. They were friends since elementary school and on our way to go to Bhutan and China as well after Nepal. Wow, I such adore people who still travel no matter how old they are. Travel such bring you back to the real you and travel such cherish your life in a good way. After promised to keep contact we them, we said farewell. I wanna know their trip to Bhutan, oh man.. Bhutan! Such my dream country to go. Wish I could be there too one day.

Day 4 Trekking in Nepal, Last Day of Trekking, Back to Nayapul19

In Sarangkot, meet with other Indonesians, so happy!

 

xx,,

Dea

One comment

Leave a Reply

