Little Things in Life

I haven’t wrote anything nowadays. My mind empty, even my soul not. I haven’t went to anywhere outside Jakarta though, so it’s kind of hard for me who usually write stuff about travel, now trying to write stuff about life. Ah ya, life kinda a good idea for me to write right now.

It’s Thursday, December 12, 2013.

While Colbie Caillat, one of  my fave American Pop Singer sings her beautiful song “The Little Things” on my ears, I can say I love the word “little things” – sometimes, as a human, we tend to look only at the big moments in our life and forget that big moments created by many of little things. We tend to expect big miracles happen in our life but we forget that the big miracles happened because of many little faiths that expecting the miracle to be happened.

I love little things and I am trying to see it more carefully in my life.

919b62aada81b94db4d9fbe550d5970a

By another 19 days more, ready or not, we all have to step to another calendar of new year. 2014 sounds so amazing for me. After all those Mayan prophecies that made people feel so bad on 12-12-2012 which saying end of the world comes soon, in fact, the prophecy now sounded so wrong cause here I am, sitting on my desk, typing freely, watching the clock, seeing my calendar, and believe that today, December 12, 2013 I am still alive, safe and sound. That’s actually a form of miracle of life which probably I am forget to be thankful for.

Another great thing that may be happened this month, how I will take another level of life. Exactly in another 10 days, I will blow my candle again. I’m gonna be 31, can you imagine that huh? Even I always tell everyone that my life stopped in the age of 25, I don’t feel at 30+ at all by the way. I am surrounding by people who are younger than me. I am always have that taste of 20+ people and I still read the children books (my fave btw). I am also still do the daydreaming that probably people ages around 30+ will not do it again (or shamefully admit that they do it). I still have this imagination about dragon, rainbow, fairy thumbelina, old witch and beautiful prince. And I am not shy to tell you this. I think, during my journey traveling the world, I live in my own fairy tales – I take all the journey as my fairy steps to reaching my “gold-dream”. Anyway, I love to be me, I love my life, and I don’t want to forget my real soul regardless of my age.

94fd207f6621e720990a203fda71c681

F. Scott Fitzgerald just describing woman so beautifully 🙂

The suck things for being Asian, it’s how society judges you by your ages. You need to be marry at this age. You need to have baby at this age. You need to finish your study at this age. You need to have the house at this age. I am full of those society opinions that I can’t longer accept it. I am responsible of my life and the decision I make. But being happy is the most important and critical thing for me. I like to see how some of my friends already built their own family since years years ago. Some of them already have husband, 2-3 children, permanent house, cars, etc etc. I am happy for them. But there are also some beautiful things you still can do while you are single and not attached to family matter as me.

“Maturity is not when we start speaking BIG things. It is when start understanding SMALL things…”

Some people of my age, who think they can not find what they want and feel so empty without anyone by their side – also make me to believe sharply that I need to be happy and love myself first before I am able to love others. Some of my friends, forced by the age, need to be with someone that actually not their type – in order to get the approval from society they live, and end up in boring life with boring statuses that I read daily in their social media timeline. But hey, I don’t mean to be sarcasm here. What’s on my mind now and I want to write is, how we can choose freely how the way we want to live and be responsible to be happy and grateful with our decision.

abc4fb9cced3f9f07f2d31dfc4dd7754

In the next 10 days, I will step another new age. I can be honest, some stuff maybe so familiar in my life, nothing changes. But I also have this excitement to see what life has in store for me. What life will surprise me. What things I will meet up later and what I will reach in the future. To be honest, my age of 30 really brings me so many beautiful and amazing experience that I can proudly say I am conquering all of them. Some of them are sad, bad, dull, quirky moments, but also some of them so sweet, beautiful, pretty and awesome which teach me to be more and more of being the real version of me.

I have this bunch of my dreams about my own life. I wanna do this, I wanna do that, but more than that, I am learning to live one day at a time. To be grateful of every little things in life. To be grateful for what I have now and trying to be better than I was yesterday.

I don’t say my life is perfect. I have so many dull moments, loneliness, crying in the middle of the night without any reason, dislike the place where I am living daily, lots of needs that I want to fulfill. I also have my own scars, some of them are still I hardly fight and defeat it. Some of them, turned me to be who I am (in a good way), but I know my flaws, I know my weakness, still I am learning to be true to myself. I listen to my inner guts, and when I say Yes/No to life, I learn to really say Yes/No from deep inside my heart.

If you remember I ever wrote about how excite I am to be in December http://wp.me/p3rRlp-no, my excitement not yet reduce at all even now already the second week of December. I am in love with December, I am in love with life, I am also exciting to be in my new level of life, my birthday, another year to pass, I am happy I still breathe and able to think right now. More of that, I am learning to see how the daily little things in my life and how its build me as who I am.

“It’s the little details that are vital. Little things make big things happen.” – John Wooden

“Enjoy the little things, for one day, you may look back and realize they were the big things.” – Robert Brault

“I still get wildly enthusiastic about little things… I play with leaves. I skip down the street and run against the wind.” – Leo Buscaglia

“Everyone is trying to accomplish something big, not realizing that life is made up of little things.” – Frank A. Clark

“I think it’s important to find the little things in everyday life that make you happy.” – Paulo Coelho

Love,

Dea

Leave a Reply

