Le Petit Palais, Grand Palais, Invalides and Louvre – Glorious Sunny Day in Paris

Le Petit Palais and Grand Palais

Le Petit Palais, Grand Palais, Invalides and Louvre-3

Le Petit Palais, Grand Palais, Invalides and Louvre-4

The Grand Palais

 

I continued my walk after satisfy to admiring the beauty of Pont Alexandre III, a famous bridge in the heart of Paris city. First I’m going to the south of Seine river and find the Grand Palais and Le Petit Palais. This two buildings are facing to each other but I chose to visit Le Petit Palais first, maybe because the board advertising of one beautiful Lady painting made me curious to enter the place. Just as the name, both are looking so similar, only the Grand Palais has a huge glass dome which is so beautifully made with the France flag on the top.

Le Petit Palais, Grand Palais, Invalides and Louvre-2

Le Petit Palais

The happiest thing about visiting Le Petit Palais because it’s free for the permanent collection in Musée des Beaux-Arts de la Ville de Paris. They will charge you if you want to see the temporary exhibition. I avoided the exhibition and only look for the permanent collection room, which is lots of collections indeed! Since it’s prohibited to take picture inside of the museum and to bring your bag inside, so I put the bag in free locker and just enjoying to see their collections. Enough with some history of ancient times. I went out and cancel my intention to go to Grand Palais. I didn’t know whether it was a good decision or not, but I thought one museum is enough for that hot afternoon.

Le Petit Palais, Grand Palais, Invalides and Louvre

I caught this woman sitting nicely enjoying the sunshine..

I held my admiration of the Grand Palais building and watching a woman sitting nicely enjoying the sun shine on her face. She didn’t care about her surrounding, she looks so pretty and peaceful. If I am a man, I probably introduced myself to her in expecting a number exchange for future communication 😉 Anyway, I passed the statue of Winston Churchill. His famous statement “We shall never surrender” written boldly under the statue. In a moment I wondered why there is Churchill’s statue on the street, but then I remember the street name is Winston Churchill Avenue, so no wonder this famous person standing tall in front of the building.

Le Petit Palais, Grand Palais, Invalides and Louvre-5

Le Petit Palais, Grand Palais, Invalides and Louvre-6

Le Petit Palais, Musée des Beaux-Arts de la Ville de Paris
Avenue Winston Churchill
75008 Paris
01 53 43 40 00

 

Unknown Building (or maybe it’s just me who don’t know the building’s name)

While going to another direction to see the Invalides, I was passing a very beautiful building but I have no idea the name of the building. It has beautiful painting as well on the wall. Just like a story behind the composition of the paintings.

Le Petit Palais, Grand Palais, Invalides and Louvre-7

Le Petit Palais, Grand Palais, Invalides and Louvre-8

Le Petit Palais, Grand Palais, Invalides and Louvre-12

Le Petit Palais, Grand Palais, Invalides and Louvre-10

 

The Dôme des Invalides

Le Petit Palais, Grand Palais, Invalides and Louvre-9

Le Petit Palais, Grand Palais, Invalides and Louvre-11

The Dôme des Invalides

Then I went forward to Invalides. It was a summer season. The sun shines so bright and you can see it was a lovely day for all the people around Paris. I saw a man and a woman who try to sun bathing in the park. The woman go with the bikini and the man laid back with half-naked body. Oh boy, I can’t imagine if that person doing that in Jakarta, but Indonesia has lots of Sun so it’s very common for us to have a whole sunny day. But not for this parisians 😉

Le Petit Palais, Grand Palais, Invalides and Louvre-15

I already feel so amazed when I look the Dôme des Invalides interior from the outside. The beautiful shape of the spruce trees is so beautiful. And the gold-domed on the top is become the most recognizable and well-known part in the building. The 107 meters high gold-domed used as a burial site for numbers of country’s war heroes. This become one of the tallest monuments in Paris with beautiful paintings inside of the dome, painted by Charles de La Fosse.

IMG_4142

Le Petit Palais, Grand Palais, Invalides and Louvre-16

The Dôme des Invalides is famous with Napoleon’s tomb inside of the building. Napoleon first wish is to be buried in the banks of Seine river, but later on, King Louis-Philippe decided to have his body exhumed and returned to Paris in 1840. Then the remains of Napoleon’s body were placed in 6 coffins inside of the tomb.

Le Petit Palais, Grand Palais, Invalides and Louvre-14

The Dôme des Invalides located in 7th arrondissement, Paris.

 

Louvre Museum

Le Petit Palais, Grand Palais, Invalides and Louvre-17

Le Petit Palais, Grand Palais, Invalides and Louvre-18

If you ever watched The Da Vinci Code – even I should honestly admit I haven’t seen the movie yet, you probably know about the Monalisa painting. Guess what, that famous beautiful painting actually only a very small one. I heard, many tourist usually go to Louvre in order to specially see the painting and kind of amaze – not only how beautiful it is, but also a bit shock with the real size of the painting. Anyway, it’s kind of pity that I can’t go inside of Louvre that time. Again, summer time really not a good season to visiting the famous places in Paris, because the long line can kill your legs. I can’t enter the museum after see so many people waiting patiently to be inside the museum, and most of them were tourist.

Le Petit Palais, Grand Palais, Invalides and Louvre-19

Me in front of Louvre, you can see so many visitors as well to see the Museum…

But I took a peek of the inside of Louvre, it’s so cool, isn’t it?…

Le Petit Palais, Grand Palais, Invalides and Louvre-20

Le Petit Palais, Grand Palais, Invalides and Louvre-21

So I told myself positively, it’s a sign that I probably will visit Paris again one day and able to enter those beautiful places. Not only Louvre, I also can’t enter the famous Notre-Dame church – the real place as scenes of Hunchback of Notre Dame story by Victor Hugo.

But it doesn’t mean that I skipped Louvre and go to another place. In fact, Louvre is still so cool to visit even you only going around in the outside of the building. The thick French high class architecture building makes Louvre becomes so beautifully to see. You will love it whether you only bring a juice, sandwich and your book, reading it until the sun is setting down. I saw an old man doing the same, and my favorite thing is when I heard a beautiful classic music played by a street musician. It’s so beautiful! And because he played in the alley, the echo of the music went around and loudly to hear by some tourist who passed by.

Le Petit Palais, Grand Palais, Invalides and Louvre-23

I really like to see him, he doesn’t even care about what happened surrounding him, he has his own peace, his own time, beautiful!

Le Petit Palais, Grand Palais, Invalides and Louvre-22

And this, this! It was my joy after an exhausted long walk from place to places. Listened him played the music such give a fresh air to my soul…

So I walked around the Louvre. Surrounding also beautiful area. With huge park with lots of classic statues, I wish I know exactly what’s the statue represent about, because it seems like having story behind their pose. There is also a theme park, which I only see it from far. Some happy screaming heard from the giant wheel. Everyone was looking so happy for sure, who can be sad in that such glorious sunny day in Paris?

Le Petit Palais, Grand Palais, Invalides and Louvre-24

Le Petit Palais, Grand Palais, Invalides and Louvre-25

Le Petit Palais, Grand Palais, Invalides and Louvre-28

Le Petit Palais, Grand Palais, Invalides and Louvre-27

Louvre also has an underground mall. Where the souvenir store also there. I was so extremely happy when I see two teenagers bring Starbucks. I don’t care if I write a brand here, but I am a Starbucks babe. It’s so difficult to find this coffee in Paris, opposite with Jakarta where you can find Starbucks everywhere. So I asked them where to buy and they told me the place and I was in hurry to go to the coffee shop. Of course the price more expensive, but for a nice familiar one cup of Blended Frappucino, I don’t care at all!

Le Petit Palais, Grand Palais, Invalides and Louvre-29

Le Petit Palais, Grand Palais, Invalides and Louvre-26

Sunset in Louvre gives another peaceful feeling. It’s not so wrong if French people really proud with Louvre, it just like a small town because the museum is so huge! In the evening, the pyramid glass in the center gives some nice light to the area. Many people takes lots of pictures here, also I saw a couple do the pre-wedding pictures in Louvre. First I was thinking it’s probably the French people, but no, it was Chinese couples, oh man, can you imagine all the way they come to Paris only to shoot pre-wedding pictures? Chinese people indeed are so crazy! 😛

Le Petit Palais, Grand Palais, Invalides and Louvre-30

Le Petit Palais, Grand Palais, Invalides and Louvre-31

Le Petit Palais, Grand Palais, Invalides and Louvre-33

Le Petit Palais, Grand Palais, Invalides and Louvre-32

Le Petit Palais, Grand Palais, Invalides and Louvre-34

That day is finished. I should be satisfy for walking around to some cool places. That’s what I love about Europe, from each historical place to another only measure by walking distance. The infrastructures are good, the public transportation is excellent, the sign board also easy to understand even they are in French. As my first solo travel experience, I feel safe in the city and not worry about getting lost. And guess what? The sun set down around 11 pm, that was really a crazy situation for me. While in Indonesia, our clock always up and down in same time daily, here, in Summer, you can get lots of sun and a long noon.

Cheers,

Dea

2 comments

Leave a Reply

