30 Pictures from My Journey in Angkor Wat, Cambodia

I still remember clearly when I visited this country, Cambodia ,for the first time. It was also my first time going abroad (not mention about Kuala Lumpur that I need to stayed for the transit). I was sooo excited. Especially because I already fall in love with this country before I’ve been there. The one that really attracted me is Angkor Wat and Bayon, the temple. Angkor means city and wat is temple in Khmer language. When my first time abroad was coming, I decided to visit this beautiful ancient town, Siem Reap and see Angkor Wat as part of 7 wonders of the world. And the cool thing, it’s also appearing in Cambodia national flag. This article is showing about 30 Pictures I found worth enough to share to you from my journey there, years ago. I hope you will like it πŸ™‚

30 Pictures from My Journey to Angkor Wat4

 

30 Pictures from My Journey to Angkor Wat5

My first time going abroad, here I am, in Angkor Wat, Cambodia

 

There is a choice for tourist to visit the Angkor, how many days you want. Since it’s a huge place, like the whole town full with Angkor, I think it’s recommended to choose the 3 days pass card. They have also 1 day or a week pass card. As developed country which also still developing their tourism part, I was kinda surprised to see the pass card has our own picture, I mean, they will take a picture of us and print it on the card. Colorful! Even Borobudur temple, another 7 wonders of the world located in Indonesia, doesn’t have this system. Bravo! You should googling the price for the pass card, because I went there 2 years ago so I think the price kinda different now.

30 Pictures from My Journey to Angkor Wat30

30 Pictures from My Journey to Angkor Wat9

30 Pictures from My Journey to Angkor Wat10

 

30 Pictures from My Journey to Angkor Wat11 30 Pictures from My Journey to Angkor Wat12

30 Pictures from My Journey to Angkor Wat22 30 Pictures from My Journey to Angkor Wat21 30 Pictures from My Journey to Angkor Wat19 30 Pictures from My Journey to Angkor Wat13

30 Pictures from My Journey to Angkor Wat16

30 Pictures from My Journey to Angkor Wat24

30 Pictures from My Journey to Angkor Wat26

30 Pictures from My Journey to Angkor Wat18

The beautiful Khmer style of building.

 

We used tuk-tuk to go around the town. The person who drove tuk-tuk really a nice and friendly man. I can say, Cambodia is having dry soil and kind of poor country (compared to Indonesia), but they really have a joyful soul. They always smile to people, even the heat so crazy burning our skin, but they are not rude or frowning all the time.

30 Pictures from My Journey to Angkor Wat6

The palm juice seller tried to offer us the drink happily.

30 Pictures from My Journey to Angkor Wat7

Ma and the children.

 

30 Pictures from My Journey to Angkor Wat8

My fave spot of the temple.

30 Pictures from My Journey to Angkor Wat23

“There is always light after the dark.”

 

Due to many bomb and grenade still buried in the soil, it is suggested to people to walk only in the common path. The thing that make me feel so sad when I saw so many people lose their part of body because of the grenade buried long time ago while they are still in war. Some people who do the farming, some times get the accident because they don’t know the location of grenade and step on it. Until now, there are many foundation built to finding those grenades. Many countries help Cambodia regarding this case.

30 Pictures from My Journey to Angkor Wat1

30 Pictures from My Journey to Angkor Wat3

30 Pictures from My Journey to Angkor Wat28

30 Pictures from My Journey to Angkor Wat17

30 Pictures from My Journey to Angkor Wat27

Many statues lost their heads regarding to looting by Khmer rouge.

 

30 Pictures from My Journey to Angkor Wat29

Some still survive.

 

Angkor Wat itself is a huge ruined temple. It was before a Hindu temple, then change into Buddhist temple and the largest religious moment in the world. Built started by Khmer king, Suryavarman II in the early 12th century and completed by Jayavarman VII. Normally religious temple facing east, but Angkor Wat facing west because they built it to honor the God of Visnu. The shape of Angkor Wat represent Mount Meru, the place where gods live. That’s why you can see they crave fancy decorated detail carving from bottom to top of the temple, because it is purposely built for God. Angkor Wat approximately took time to build about 30-35 years and used around 4000 elephants and people to bring the stones from the mountain (phnom) Kulen which about 55 km from northeast Angkor.

30 Pictures from My Journey to Angkor Wat2

“If a stone can smile, why human can not?”

 

In the mid of 19th century, this town visited by Henri Mouhot, a French Naturalist and Explorer and introduce to the west world about Angkor Wat. He said Angkor is a lost city which contains in total, more than 100 temples and remarkable carvings. Within 2 centuries perhaps a million people used to lived here. It is said Angkor Wat and surrounding city thrived until 1431, when invaders from Siam (Thailand) arrived. Later on, Angkor abandoned because it was badly damage. In 1970, Khmer Rouge guerrillas looted the temples damage the temple and took the statues for sell it in black market for getting cash for war. Many statues have no head anymore which make me wonder, why?

30 Pictures from My Journey to Angkor Wat14

30 Pictures from My Journey to Angkor Wat20

30 Pictures from My Journey to Angkor Wat25

I love the last picture, see how she put her hand to her friend. I gave me a peace inside.

 

This temple might be so dusty because of the weather and the ruined condition, but if you are alone here and look around, you will see how amazing the process of building this temple. How enormous and powerful people of Cambodia who able to lift the stone from far away and make it into a beautiful Angkor Wat, a legacy for it’s people and the world. It is not merely just a religious temple but also the nation pride for Khmer people. I felt glad I can see it finally with my own eyes!

30 Pictures from My Journey to Angkor Wat15

“It is better to see something once, than to hear about it a thousand times.” – Asian Proverbs

 

Cheers,

Dea

2 comments

Leave a Reply

