Why Blogging?

Since I was a kid, I read books a lot. Since that time, my idea of wording formed shapely step by step. After read so many fantasy books and comics, I like to wrote about my own “romance” stuff but later on, it just stuck without any ending or future story lines. Later on, when I am adult and started to go travel, I am thinking why not I start to write again and make a blog which will be as my recordable stories that I can read again later when I miss my trips.

Why-Blogging-Dea-Sihotang (4)Me writing in the train from Galle to Colombo, Sri Lanka.

 

Blogging also a way where I can pay back the kindness of travel bloggers around the world who usually help me with their writing and information about the places I wanna go while I am doing the research for my own trip. Since I am mostly travel alone, for me, knowledge is the power. By writing back about my journey and share it to the world, I think I make the kindness still going around. Perhaps people who wanna go to the places I’ve already visited will get some useful information from my blog.

 

Why in English?

First reason because I want to practice. Language is needed to use daily. Because the chance to speak English in Jakarta is not so much (not if you don’t have a work related to foreigners or not having so many foreigners friends) so I always beat myself to write in English even I know my English isn’t so good and I made lots of mistakes in Grammar. For me, as long as my intention is understood by people who read it, I already success. By the time, with keep practicing it daily – writing it daily and reading some English books, I believe my English will be better day by day (I hope so!).

 

Second reason because I want international people can read my blog and especially I want to introduce Indonesia to them. There are so many blogs (travel blogs about Indonesia) in Indonesian, but so limited in English, then how can we make people interest to explore Indonesia if they don’t know what we are writing about in our blog? The risk of writing blog in English that local people will skip my blog and never want to discover the articles inside, because a friend of mine once told me, “Hey Dea, it’s so dizzy to read your blog! I should bring dictionary.”

 

But whatever, I keep doing it in English. Only some times now, I also put some articles in Bahasa (Indonesian language). Just to let people that, “Hey, I am still Indonesian eh!” 😀

 

Writing can makes me happy from the beginning of the day…

Why-Blogging-Dea-Sihotang (1)Until late of the night.

Why-Blogging-Dea-Sihotang (2)

Travel Bloggers Community

My first awareness that Indonesia has so many bloggers (especially in traveling or backpacker things) when I went to Sky Scanner Workshop few months ago. It was amazed me how so many people love to write (in English or in Bahasa) and have blog! There is a good way to put all the travel bloggers in one community (Travel Blogger Indonesia) so we can share and support to each other. I also see the competition there. Competition between the bloggers which I hope can be in a good and positive way, of course. It made me realized that travel can become such as big business in Indonesia. And the bloggers are the front line people who will speak about the beautiful destinations in Indonesia and promote it with their blogs. Being in community, especially a community that will equip us with such powerful tools and knowledge so we can be an Indonesian professional travel blogger, absolutely will be such a good advantage for us to facing the Internationally travel bloggers that we can find so much (so so so much) lately in internet.

 

I understand that everyone has their own reason why they set up a blog and writing. I hope it’s not merely for the commercial purpose only, because the one principle that I always hold about writing is the quote from my favorite books author, Paulo Coelho, who said, “I’d have stopped writing years ago if it were for the money.” The eagerness and spirit of writing (either it’s a blog, book, anything) should be comes from within not from outside reward, if you get the fame, money and acknowledgement from people, it is a bonus. For me, writing is such a thing that can not be separated from me. It just naturally in my blood and I will get headache if I don’t write stuff that goes in my mind. I can wake up in the middle of the night, if I have inspiration to write and I will need to write it down as soon as possible. It’s like I have my own demon inside and need to be forced to go out rather than haunt me. Ernest Hemmingway once said, “There is nothing to writing. All you do is sit down at a typewriter and bleed.” He was so true for me.

 

For me, having a blog is like having a baby, I need to maintenance it so it will grow well. And just like having a baby who needs to be introduced with another babies to make friends, I would love to be in Travel Bloggers Community so I can gain more and more knowledge from another fellow bloggers.

Why-Blogging-Dea-Sihotang (3)“Travel brings yourself back as yourself” – Dea (yeahhh my tagline… )

 

Happy blogging and keep being humble!

Dea Sihotang

Disclaimer

 

 

6 comments

  1. Keren ahhh

    Sent from my iPhone5

    AKBP M. HIDAYAT B, SH, SIK, MH AKPOL94/TP, PTIK36/AL & SESPIM49

    “Perbaiki Terus Kapalmu krn Lautan Akan Semakin Dalam”

    Jabatan : Kapolres Kepulauan Selayar Polda SulSel

    EMAILS : mohammad.hidayat@tunggalpanaluan.com mohammad.hidayat@sulsel.polri.go.id WEBSITES : http://www.mohammadhidayat-sh-sik-mh.com http://www.dayatonya.16mb.com http://www.bidkumpoldasulsel.16mb.com

    HP : 0818200082

    >

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

