The Missing Flights

You were not understand a tragedy until it comes that close to you. – Me

 

Yesterday morning, my heart broke in tears when I heard another flight is missing. This time, the airlines feel so close to me, Air Asia! I was using mostly of my flight to travel by Air Asia. And the journey that missing also not the long one, it’s from Surabaya (Indonesia) to Singapore. I found it really strange and also heartache as well because it happened really close to me! Surabaya, just few hour from Jakarta, and Air Asia, I always flight with this airlines!

The-Missing-Flight (2)

This is the first time Air Asia having this kind of accidents. 2014 year indeed a difficult year for airlines business. Not only Malaysia Airlines missed their flight twice, they are also some accidents happened in Egypt and another European country.

 

If I could count from http://planecrashinfo.com/ there was 32 flight accidents so far in 2014, commercial plane or not. If I checked in wikipedia http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Category:Aviation_accidents_and_incidents_in_2014 there was 17 flight accidents. I don’t really know which one right, but the fact really makes my stomach growls in bad way and I feel so sick to think that the flight that I used often can be such a deadly weapon for human race. Imagine one accidents can really grab hundred human’s soul. That’s so sad.

 

My idea to write about this is to remember that we never know what will be happened in the next few minutes. This morning, when I arrived to the office, me with a friend who is also love backpacking, talked about the Air Asia case. We both so scare since we used Air Asia that much. In my honest opinion, AA is much much better compared to another budget airlines, no wonder they always chosen as best budget airlines flight. And I am so deeply sad for the victims and family, my mind wander to the idea how they all wanted to celebrate holiday in Singapore and wake up so early to catch first flight. They fulled with hope and expectation. I am more growls when I heard from my friend, that one of the flight attendant having a newly wife that pregnant for 7 months. That’s so make me speechless.

The-Missing-Flight (1)Me flying to Kathmandu, Nepal with Air Asia.

 

I know that our days in earth is numbered. God knows when we die and once we face it, we should face it. But traveling is such beautiful things – lots of hope and excitement when one prepared their flight and expect to arrive in new place for vacation or whatever they purpose for. My heart shattered to see the news and how it’s still no sign of the plane even now already a day. Remember about another Malaysian Airlines flight which not yet found until now. My heart deeply in sad and I feel my eyes teary for this matter.

 

“God had brought me to my knees and made me acknowledge my own nothingness, and out of that knowledge I had been reborn. I was no longer the centre of my life and therefore I could see God in everything.” – Bede Griffiths

 

There are so many factors in flight accidents which myself not capable to explain it technically, but I just want to remind myself, wherever I go, I should begin it with a pray. For those who not believe in God, maybe my suggestion is ridiculous. But for me, I better to do ridiculous thing that can make my heart in peace rather than living in my own understanding which leads nothing.

 

You can leave this article, if you find it ridiculous. Because yes, I can’t prove that God is visible exist because I haven’t dead yet, but I can feel Him wherever I go and once I need to facing death, I wish that I will see Him later, than being alone flying somewhere in unknown place. The idea of having one Strong Hands that take care of me, relieving me rather than feeling this life alone. I think it’s also not fair to mock God and said, If He is a good God, why He let bad things happened? We live by our choices, remember? Why we mock Him when life is bad and not say thank you or remember Him when life is good?

 

Have you not known? Have you not heard? The Lord is the everlasting God, the Creator of the ends of the earth. He does not faint or grow weary; his understanding is unsearchable. Isaiah 40 : 28

 

I once feel so terrible when flight from Jakarta to Jeddah. There were so many prayers in magazine next to my seat inside the plane. That was make me feeling so panic even we haven’t take off yet. But I think it was a simple reminder, that beyond our knowledge and ability as human, there are so many unexpectedly things that might be happened that’s why we need to rely to God.

 

My heart and pray go to all the passengers in Air Asia QZ8501, family and all people who is now working their best to find the plane. I wish and I pray that God helps them to find the plane soon. There were so many tears already, there were so many broken heart, I wish good God can hear it from heaven and let the process smooth.

 

There is a way of saying encouragement in Dutch, “God Sterkte!” – I love the saying a lot and I hope God’s strength will reach you whoever and wherever you are. We might not know why we are facing something at this moment, but later on God Himself will let us know the reason.

Be strong and take heart, all you who hope in the LORD. Psalm 31:24

 

For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. – Jeremiah 29 : 11

 

God Sterkte!
Dea Sihotang

Disclaimer

Leave a Reply

