Karimun Java, What an Incredible Island

Hello! How’s life?

 

I miss writing about my beautiful country, Indonesia! Today I was busy uploading some photos from Belitung to my Instagram (. I miss beach a lot! Even lately the weather is so suck in Jakarta!

 

So now, I wanna sit nicely and put my mind wandering to beautiful place I’ve been in North of Java. It called Karimun. Actually, for me, my trip to there wasn’t only memorable because the place is really beautiful but also give me a luck! Why? Because my writing about Karimun that I submitted to a writing competition, lead me to get one of the final prize which later bring me to West Sumatera, the land of Andalas for free!

Ok, skip about West Sumatera first. Let’s talk about Karimun, or mostly famous by named Karimun Java.

Karimun-Java-Dea-Sihotang (19) Karimun-Java-Dea-Sihotang (27)Underwater in Karimun.

 

Based on Wikipedia, Karimun Java is an archipelago of 27 islands in the Java Sea. Actually it’s located in North Java. If we want to reach the island, from Jakarta, we can take train or flight to Semarang, then from Semarang – because we were 7 of us that time, so we rented a car, from Semarang heading to Jepara. It took around 2 hours to arrived in Jepara harbor. From there, we should take a boat to reaching Karimun. Train from Jakarta, from Gambir Station – an Argo Anggrek Bromo train, departed around 9 pm and arrived in Semarang Tawang around 5 am. To check the price, you can go to this website https://tiket.kereta-api.co.id/ – only I admit, it’s unfortunately the website doesn’t have English version. I hope government will make the English translation as well, so foreigners also able to buy tickets by online easily. Otherwise, you can directly go to Gambir train station to buy. Well, since some time ago, government asked us to bring original ID while buying tickets and to show in the entry gate. So don’t forget to bring your original ID. A new improvement from the system, if you bought online, you can self-printed your ticket in the train station (finally!) for free.

Karimun-Java-Dea-Sihotang (9)Clear water in the island. You can see inside of the ocean from the boat!

 

We once arrived in Semarang Tawang in really early morning! Feeling so sleepy we continued the sleep while we already inside the car. The road from Semarang Tawang to Jepara was bumping, traffic as well (even it was an early morning!) – Glad that we all sleep so we didn’t feel it, only poor the driver. Anyway, to get our breakfast, we stopped for a while in one of great food stall. We ate Soto Ayam (Chicken Soup) which is really delicious! Yumm yummm…

Karimun-Java-Dea-Sihotang (22) Karimun-Java-Dea-Sihotang (21) Karimun-Java-Dea-Sihotang (20)

The problem about the boat, they not available every hour. So you need to be patience like us! We arrived in Jepara around 8 am but we have to wait until 1 pm, since we booked the boat for that time. It was an express one. We will arrive in Karimun island in the next 2 hours. The long one can be around 4 hours or more. Be prepared for the sweaty journey, since the roof is so short and it was not so windy plus the air con is not really can be felt. I already warned you 😉

Karimun-Java-Dea-Sihotang (25) Karimun-Java-Dea-Sihotang (24) Karimun-Java-Dea-Sihotang (23)Inside of the express boat.

 

It was necessarily for us to arrive in Jepara early, because we only rented the car for 6 hours tho’ – even you can actually explore Semarang first before going to Jepara harbor by bus, exploring their famous culinary for example. We waited the boat in a store nearby, eating (again) or just sleeping while charging our smart phone.

 

Once we arrived in Karimun harbor, I can see the water is so blue clear! Ohhh, if the water near human still clear, how is it the water far away in small islands nearby Karimun? I believe it will be so incredibly beautiful! I can’t wait to explore the islands. But I need to wait. The schedule for island hopping will be tomorrow. Today, we arrived in Karimun already too late. It was almost the sunset time!

Karimun-Java-Dea-Sihotang (1)One of simple house in the village.

Karimun-Java-Dea-Sihotang (2)One huge tree near the football field.

 

We packed out our stuff in the hostel. It was a humble hostel. More like the house of local people which is changed into hostel. They rented some rooms of theirs for us. Our room is having a king size bed and they put another additional bed for my friend. In a room, there was the three of us. Electricity in Karimun island only available during night. So once it’s dark, we need to use all the electricity contacts to charge our stuff (phones, camera battery, powerbank, etc).

 

We walked slowly to the city hall. Actually it’s a football field. In the evening it will be full with food stall which is really good to eat there. They sell fresh seafood and the price is sooo cheap. Not only seafood, you can find other food such as grilled corn or toast, meatball soup, noodle soup, chicken satay, etc. Karimun island itself is the biggest island there and fill with some humble and friendly local people. I love the area because it’s far away of the image of touristic place.

Karimun-Java-Dea-Sihotang (8) Karimun-Java-Dea-Sihotang (7) Karimun-Java-Dea-Sihotang (6)

And the sunset… OMG! I was speechless. It was truly beautiful. The whole sky turned into reddish color! My fave sunset ever!

Karimun-Java-Dea-Sihotang (4) Karimun-Java-Dea-Sihotang (5)

Tomorrow morning, we were ready to catch our small boat and do the island hopping. We can do snorkeling also diving here, only you need license to do diving. Like in elsewhere. First destination was to go to Small Island (Pulau Kecil). The first time I touched the water, I feel so GREAT! Coral and reefs in Karimun is so shallow so be careful with your feet and fin. Don’t step on the coral since it will broke the corals 😦 If you want to take a picture of yourself, don’t, once again, don’t step on the coral, try your best to floating! Once the local told me, why we can’t step on the coral? He said, “That’s because the value of Karimun. If people damage the corals, so what can we offer to tourist again? Tourist will gone because Karimun will be such a terrible place.” Make sense!

Karimun-Java-Dea-Sihotang (3)

After finished first snorkeling, we continue it in Tengah Island (Pulau Tengah). I didn’t feel tired, I didn’t feel sick, I didn’t feel sad – even that time I just break with my boyfriend. The beach healed me, just when the white sands and the wave made me feel loved again. Maybe I was a bit part of mermaid because I love water so much.

Karimun-Java-Dea-Sihotang (16)Karimun-Java-Dea-Sihotang (18) I found love in the deeper sea! 🙂

 

Our belly became so hungry, we played around the island while waiting the fishes grilled. The good thing about going on a trip with bunch of girl friends, we can do lots of fun things! We played yoga, swimming, play with the sandy beach, and just enjoying the moment. There is a shark pond near the wood house, I took a look there and kind of scare to see the shark, but do you know that you can swim with the shark here? I was a bit shock too, but later on I try it because I was so curious.

Karimun-Java-Dea-Sihotang (13)

After lunch, we went to Menjangan Besar Island (Pulau Menjangan Besar). This is the place of shark pond. We can safely swim with them. I tried it and I am not that confidence to swim freely with them in beginning. But later on, after few moment under the water with some of bleeding wounds in my legs because of the coral, I get up again to the deck and finished. At least I already feel the sensation of swimming with dangerous fishes close to my legs!

Karimun-Java-Dea-Sihotang (15) Karimun-Java-Dea-Sihotang (14)

 

The next day was our last day in Karimun. I felt so sad to leave this beautiful island. But before we were leaving, we will go to some islands too for doing our last snorkeling. I was dancing in happily.

Karimun-Java-Dea-Sihotang (30)Karimun-Java-Dea-Sihotang (10)Karimun-Java-Dea-Sihotang (11)We need to catch the express boat to return to Jepara at 1 pm. So we only visited one last place, Menjangan Kecil island (Pulau Menjangan Kecil). Weh, it’s only merely the last place! It is also the beautiful one!! Save the best for last they said, and I am fully so agree. I feel like the time is just simply stop when I was in Karimun Java. Which is good, it is so relaxing, humble and cheap trip ever.

Karimun-Java-Dea-Sihotang (12)Bring me back there again, pleassseeeeee….. 

Karimun-Java-Dea-Sihotang (26)Put this place to your bucket list. You won’t regret it. Trust me 🙂

 

Cheers,
Dea Sihotang

 

PS : We used this tour package, the crew that handling our enquiry was so helpful, polite and friendly. I am recommend them to you 🙂 http://www.wisatakita.com/paket/2/Karimunjawa-Paket-Karimunjawa-3-Hari-2-Malam-Bahari-Express

Disclaimer

 

6 comments

  1. That is such an amazing sunset, indeed! And how lucky you were to be able to spot that heart-shaped coral. 🙂 Anyway, a little info here… Karimun is actually a group of small islands in the Riau Islands Province, while the name for those islets off the coast of Java is Karimunjava (also spelled Karimun Java). Therefore it should always be written as Karimunjava or Karimun Java, to avoid confusion with their counterparts near Sumatra. 🙂

    Like

    • Kalau boleh usul sih, enaknya 4 hari 3 malam, jadi puas banget deh snorkelingnya. Dan kalau bisa, trekking di National Parknya, soalnya saya ga sempet trekking di situ *penasaran 🙂

      Like

    • Hello Reina, it is not expensive 🙂 Actually when I was there, I took the package around 750,000 rupiah from Jepara. It is really worthy because the place is sooo beautiful 🙂 Hope you can go there too 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

