Fun Camping in Situ Gunung, Sukabumi

The best way to begin a new year is to be in the place you love the most with people you like the most.

 

For me, it’s to go camping with my travel partners in crime. This time we chose to go to Situ Gunung, Sukabumi, it’s not far from Jakarta, around 4 hours by bus if the road is normal.

Fun-Camping-Situgunung-Dea-Sihotang (9)

My sweet friends, thanks for the friendship ❤

 

On 1st of January 2015, exactly the beginning of this year, we gathered together and go to Kampung Rambutan Bus station. Actually to reach Sukabumi from Jakarta – you can better go from Lebak Bulus Bus station since you will get the Air Conditioner bus (Rp. 30.000,-/person), but at that time we don’t know that the bus still available in the station since the station now is in the progress of renovation, so we headed to Sukabumi through Kampung Rambutan Bus station with price for each person around Rp. 25.000,-.

 

We arrived in Sukabumi almost in dark time. You better take the Air Conditioner bus since the economy one is really crowded with the passengers and the sellers. Some passengers were so annoyed us by smoking inside of the bus. The thing is, in Indonesia, smoking inside the bus is like normal thing to do. Only with Air Con, they are prohibited to do it.

 

After such a tired journey, we try to refresh ourselves a bit in the mosque while waiting for my friends doing their prayer. From there, we charter a small car to take us to Situ Gunung. It was only Rp. 15.000,-/person. The road was so bumpy and it’s going to up to the hill. We can feel the cold weather already while inside of the car. To camp inside of the public Situ Gunung camping ground, we need to pay Rp. 20.000,-/night.

Fun-Camping-Situgunung-Dea-Sihotang (21)Our lovely tents 🙂

It was really a lucky day for us. No hard rain when we arrived and when we built the tent. We made 2 tents for female and male. For me, it was the cute tent I ever stayed! That night we spent the day by talking and enjoying the atmosphere. Since we didn’t camp that far from the entry gate, so we can hear the camping office played loud of Dangdut music (pop music that has loud and noise rhythm and adored by lots of people in Indonesia). It was really ruined the situation to be honest, I wished they can stop the music and let the people who want to camping can enjoying the solitude, the sound of night birds, insects and leaves that fall from the trees.

Fun-Camping-Situgunung-Dea-Sihotang (1)

Anyway, we went to sleep inside of the tent quite late because we talked a lot. Tomorrow is another day, the day that we wait for it. So shame that I got sick suddenly. I vomited a lot. Maybe I was too tired from another activities in Jakarta. But I was able to sleep well. Thanks God.

Fun-Camping-Situgunung-Dea-Sihotang (20)Just woke up 😀

 

In the morning, we woke up shivering. The whole night, weather was going down and it was so cold. The idea to take shower was not so appealing that time. I only changed my clothes and get ready for doing our trekking. Good news for you who like camping but don’t like the feeling of lack of water & toilet, in Situ Gunung, they have public toilet, so we can shower there without worry no water. Only be careful with leeches. Some of them probably inside of the water as well, on the edge of the bathtub.

 

First destination is to go to the lake. I was feel so happy to see the lake, even there are some of food seller, but you can still enjoying the quiet and peaceful atmosphere in the lake. Some people suggest us to come there in very early morning. They said that’s the best time to capturing the misty lake because it’s still foggy. But we were too lazy to wake up that early in chilly weather, so we didn’t go there in early morning. But even in normal hour, this lake already look so beautiful!

Fun-Camping-Situgunung-Dea-Sihotang (2)Fun-Camping-Situgunung-Dea-Sihotang (3)

To complete the experience, we rode the boat around the lake. Pretty view!

Fun-Camping-Situgunung-Dea-Sihotang (4)Fun-Camping-Situgunung-Dea-Sihotang (10)

Fun-Camping-Situgunung-Dea-Sihotang (11)It is not how much we have, but how much we enjoy, that makes happiness – Charles Spurgeon

 

It’s kind of new for me to stay in commercial camping ground as in Situ Gunung. I mean, there are some food seller there that make everything is so easy in Situ Gunung. We prepared ourselves with lots of food because usually, there are no food seller in the mountain, but not in here, it’s a right place for family to enjoying nature but not want to be “too natural.” Facilities are appropriate available here. There are also an expensive camping ground with excellent facility from Tana Kita – which is of course we didn’t go there. But camping life is so easy in Situ Gunung.

Fun-Camping-Situgunung-Dea-Sihotang (12)Found this meatball stall near the lake for our lunch! Yummy 🙂

 

Finished with the lake, we were going to trekking to the waterfall. This is a bit challenge since we need to go through the forest. But this is my fave part! There is no camping, no hiking, if we didn’t do hard trekking. It’s tired enough for all of us, especially when we need to cross the steep road to go up and to go down, we need to be extra focus and extra strong. Sweat everywhere on my body.

Fun-Camping-Situgunung-Dea-Sihotang (17)

The waterfall itself is not make me disappointed at all! I really like it! I still remember couple weeks ago when I went to a waterfall with my family and it’s really ugly place! The nature should be leave it that way, human hands sometimes only make it become so ugly and fake. Anyway, in this waterfall – again you can find food seller, but they still keep it as natural as it be. Only the problem is the same, there are some rubbish in some area – that’s make me sad. When do human can learn to appreciate place they go by not littering? When do human can understand that nature also need their respect? When do human can learn to keep their environment clean because it will be a benefit for them as well? I wish local government never tired to remind their people and tourist to keep the environment clean.

Fun-Camping-Situgunung-Dea-Sihotang (5)

Fun-Camping-Situgunung-Dea-Sihotang (16)Beautiful waterfall ❤

 

Amazingly I was able to do the trekking without feel sick anymore. Another luck also was with us. Exactly after we arrived in the tent, the rain started to pouring the earth. What a safe and comfort place was it, when we can sit nicely inside of the tent. The rain wasn’t so long as well, only around few minutes. When I opened my sandal, I saw blood on my feet – yikes, I got the leeches bites!

Fun-Camping-Situgunung-Dea-Sihotang (13)Fun-Camping-Situgunung-Dea-Sihotang (15)

In total, the trip was so relaxing and smooth. All the weather prediction was wrong . We were safe and sound and happy plus a full tummy, because we love to eat all the food, trying to cook everything we had and eat then sleep, then eat, then sleep. It was a beautiful feeling to sleep under the mother of giant trees. People should do this kind of activity often, only by blending with the nature, we can gain our sense again.

Fun-Camping-Situgunung-Dea-Sihotang (19)Cooking cooking 🙂

Fun-Camping-Situgunung-Dea-Sihotang (18)Another function of photo stick!

 

The next day, when we wanna back to Jakarta, me and the other female friends planned to go walk to the lake again, but we stopped in the flying fox area. When I saw so many people (especially children) do the game, I am tempting to try the flying fox. It was my first time to do it. I thought it was simple and easy to do, but it’s really bring out the fears in me. My feet was shaking when I need to walk slowly through the small board. Then when the time to fly while hold the rope, I was soooo scared! I was reluctant to do it, especially when I see below my feet, we were stand so higher from the ground. All my feet felt so cold and shaking. But finally, after 5 minutes arguing with the crew (because I was so panic and scare then I blame him – poor him) and arguing with myself, finally I was able to throw my body out by the rope, and swing! In few seconds, I already back to the ground, it was too fast! The argument and the panic attack was longer than the swing itself, hahaha. But I do enjoyed it, maybe when I saw another flying fox, I wanna try it again.

Fun-Camping-Situgunung-Dea-Sihotang (6)Look easy, but for me it wasn’t. At least in the end of the board.

Fun-Camping-Situgunung-Dea-Sihotang (7)Don’t be fooled with this smile, it’s a scary smile, I wasn’t dare to look my feet.

Fun-Camping-Situgunung-Dea-Sihotang (8)The rope for the swing!

 

Thanks Situ Gunung, the weather, the trees, the ground, the water, food, my friends, clouds, sunshine, God, for all the nice things we had to begin this year. It was a pleasant days and it makes us addictive to set another plan to camping again 😉

Fun-Camping-Situgunung-Dea-Sihotang (14)

But what is happiness except the simple harmony between a woman and the life she leads?  – Albert Camus

 

Cheers,

Dea Sihotang

Disclaimer

 

 

 

17 comments

  1. kak, aku mau nanya boleh , kakak camping dimana ? dan disana itu apa sudah tersedia peralatan champing ?? jarak antara tenda kaka dengan danau jauh tidak ? trimakasi banyak “:)

    Like

    • Hello Ramoo,

      Maaf ya baru reply.. Waktu itu campingnya ga jauh dari pintu masuk. Baiknya sih bawa tenda sendiri ya. Dari tenda ke danau ga terlalu jauh 🙂 Mungkin jalan kaki sekitar 30 menit aja (kalau jalan santai).

      Cheers,
      Dea

      Like

  2. Ada kontak person petugas situ gunung gak?
    Rencana mau camp 9 – 10 mei 2015, syaratnya apa saja ya? bawa peralatan camp pribadi dari rumah 🙂 rombongan soalnya kisaran gelar 5 tenda

    Like

    • Hello,
      Langsung aja kesana, ga usah registrasi dulu. Per-orang/per-malam Rp. 20.000 biayanya. Ada banyak spot untuk camping groundnya. Nanti tinggal pilah pilih aja 🙂
      Happy camping! – Dea

      Like

  3. halo 🙂 tulisan nya membantu sekali 🙂 aku sama temen2 mau ke sana juga camp, udah sempet nanya2 sama yang tanakita cuma pas liat blog km, oh trnyata bisa by our own gtu ya? aku mau tanya, km kan ada treking sendiri tuh, guide nya darimana ya? thanks

    Like

    • Halo Steph, iya waktu itu juga kita sempet cancel karena denger udah ga bisa buat public, ternyata bisa kok.. Bisa banget malah.. Kita trekking sendiri aja, ga pakai guide. Alurnya gampang di temui kok, plus banyak warga lokal yang ke air terjun cuma day trip (ga camping), jadi bisa banget ngikutin mereka 🙂 Happy camping yaaa! Dea

      Like

Leave a Reply

